Invasion of Love: Transformation Journey (Part 1)

Thursday, April 11

4-11By Nancy Hylton of Seattle, Washington, USA

Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful. 

—Luke 6:36

I made an unexpected journey early one morning on our island campgrounds. My heart was heavy for a friend who felt she could never claim salvation because of the life she once lived. I wanted so much for her to understand the depth of divine grace, forgiveness, and love so she might live in hope, rather than despair.

As I stood on the shore, the first rays of sunrise shimmered across the waves. I took in the beauty and listened to the water lapping against the rocks. Slowly, at first, a transformation began to take place around me. I sensed the light of the sunrise engulfing me, taking weight from my body. I am sure I was still standing, but I did not feel connected to the beach.

The experience continued ever deeper into the light, until I lost sight of everything else around me. I felt completely safe, loved beyond imagination, at peace with creation and myself.

As the journey continued around me and through me, a sense of well-being permeated my soul. I had never felt this before (or in the same way since). I soon became aware I was in a vast ocean of love, which simultaneously touched every fiber, molecule, and atom of who I was.

Quietly, I returned to the shore, listening to the water rush over the stones, watching the sun make the water sparkle. How does one respond to such an invasion of love? I said, “Thank you,” which was inadequate, yet necessary! Next, I questioned, “What do you want me to do with this experience, Lord? Why was I blessed with such a gift? Why here? Why now?” I knew I needed to share this with my heavy-hearted friend. Could this be her hope?

Prayer for Peace
God who touches Earth with beauty, may our hearts be open to your grace. May we never doubt your love and understanding. May we never doubt we have Christ’s peace to share with those who are burdened.

Spiritual Practice: Flowing Water
If possible, sit where you can hear the sound of water—a fountain, stream, the sea, (perhaps a CD of water sounds). Listen to the sound as you thank God for the life-giving, life-shaping power of water. Pray for God’s blessing on all the parched places of the Earth where there is injustice, oppression, violence, and disregard for life. Pray for God’s justice to be released and imagine it flowing over the Earth, restoring righteousness and wholeness. Now, get up and drink a glass of clear, cold water as you pray, “God, let your justice flow through me as a disciple of Christ Jesus.”

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will watch and listen to your creation.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Barbara Miller-Collins

     /  12 April 2013

    There she is again. That loving disciple and beautiful person who lovingly pours herself out for the sake of the bruised and broken. I have missed you, my friend. But I know that you are out there in an ocean of love ministering to others.

Comments

