He Is with Us!

Saturday, April 13

4-13By Michelle Booth of Grain Valley, Missouri, USA 

While they were talking and discussing, Jesus himself came near and went with them, but their eyes were kept from recognizing him…When he was at the table with them, he took bread, blessed and broke it, and gave it to them. Then their eyes were opened, and they recognized him; and he vanished from their sight.

—Luke 24:15–16, 30–31

One morning driving to the office, our team’s meeting weighed on my mind. I was bringing our lectionary reflection that morning and was stepping a little out of my comfort zone.

The scripture passage that morning was from Luke 24:15–16, 30–31, the story of two disciples walking the road to Emmaus. Jesus joins them along their journey and they begin to talk with him but do not recognize him. As they near the village they invite him to stay and eat with them. As Jesus breaks the bread and gives it to them they suddenly recognize him. Just as quickly as they recognize him, Jesus disappears.

This scripture reminds me of another drive to work. My car radio, tuned to my favorite Christian station, connected the Emmaus story to the modern day.

A woman working at a pharmacy counter got a phone call from her husband. He was in the military and called to tell her they were sending him to Iraq. He gave her a long list of supplies he would need. She started to cry, telling him they had only US$20 in their bank account.

Another woman was at the counter, waiting to pick up her prescription. When the pharmacy clerk hung up the customer said, “I’ll be right back.” She returned about 30 minutes later with all the supplies the woman’s husband needed, plus more. She told the woman other soldiers would need these. She then handed the woman some cash for postage. The clerk knew that customer was the hands and feet of Jesus that day!

Christ is ALIVE! I know he walks with me on my journey. Sometimes I see him, sometimes I don’t. However, I know he’s always with me.

Prayer for Peace
Ever-present God, may we be the hands of Christ. May we share from our bounty, and even from our shallow bowl. May we share the peace of Jesus Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Generosity and Discipleship
Bring a basket or other container to your place of prayer. Meditate on the link between generosity and discipleship. Write a prayer of commitment in which you name specific acts of generosity and sharing to which you feel called. Fold the paper and place the prayer in the offering container. Close by singing a hymn of gratitude or praise as you offer your gift to God.

Peace Covenant
I will keep my eyes open, God, and recognize Jesus in the stranger.

Leave a comment

Comments

