…Yet Another Journey

Wednesday, April 17

4-17By Sue Holloway of Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA 

The salvation of the righteous is from the Lord; he is their refuge in the time of trouble. The Lord helps them and rescues them…and saves them, because they take refuge in him.

—Psalm 37:39–40

The doctor said if I had to have cancer, breast cancer was the best type to have. It was operable, and I would not need a full mastectomy. Still I was devastated. What if the lumpectomy and recommended “targeted radiation” did not work and I needed a full mastectomy? I had too many “what ifs…”

I knew God would help me with whatever was on my plate, but still I feared. Prayer requests were going to be the order of the day. My husband, Jim, and many of his co-workers through their prayer network were helpful with this, as were my former co-workers and members of our church family.

My doctor scheduled the surgery, and three days later the pathology reports showed no other cancer present. The next day I went and had a scan to be sure the balloon was in place and the targeted radiation would work. Bad news struck again. There was a problem with the balloon, and the doctor would have to remove it.

The radiologist said to me, “We can wait a few weeks and try again, or we can schedule the regular six to seven weeks of radiation.” I said, “Let’s try again.” Again we sent out prayer requests across the country. The doctor installed the second balloon and did a scan, which showed no problems. I completed my last radiation treatment and was declared cancer free.

All I could do was fall on my knees and praise God. I know our prayers are not always answered the way we want. But this is an answer I wanted to share. God has seen me through yet another journey.

Prayer for Peace
Healing God, we are aware of your presence on the journeys of our lives. We travel knowing you are with us in the high places and in the low. We call on you when we need your rescuing love. Thank you, God, for our place in your refuge, for our place in your ever-expanding arms of grace, and for your strength so freely shared. May we respond by freely sharing the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Time with God
Sit quietly and let your breathing become calm and deep. Ask God’s Spirit to rest on you. See or sense the Spirit anointing you in the form of light, a dove, wind, color, or other images that might come. Ask to be made aware of God’s love. Listen to the ways in which God wants to flow from your heart as living water. Give thanks that your name is “beloved,” that our name is Community of Christ.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will travel with one who is in a low place, sharing your comfort along the way.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

