Silly Prayer?

Monday, April 29

4-29By Eustacia Judd of Norwalk, Connecticut, USA    

The wilderness and the dry land shall be glad, the desert shall rejoice and blossom; like the crocus it shall blossom abundantly, and rejoice with joy and singing…then the lame shall leap like a deer, and the tongue of the speechless sing for joy.

—Isaiah 35:1–2, 6

“Please God, I know this isn’t world peace or anything important, but could I please have a deer in the backyard?” Even as I prayed I thought it sounded silly. Most people want deer to stay out of their yard. But this desperate grandma wanted a deer in the yard.

The request stemmed from a promise I had made weeks before. Our 4-year-old granddaughter was coming from Texas to stay with us in Connecticut for three weeks. Her parents were moving into a new home. When we talked about her visit she was concerned about leaving her parents. To give her something to look forward to I said, “Deer come to our backyard.” Later my husband said he hadn’t seen a deer in the yard in a while, and I realized I hadn’t either. Hopefully our granddaughter would forget my promise.

We flew to Connecticut a few days later to pick her up. On the way home we stopped at a farm to watch horses and hopefully take her mind off grandma’s promise. However, as we pulled into the driveway our excited granddaughter asked, “Are the deer here now?”

There were no deer, nor were there any for the next few days. So, off I went to the feed store to buy deer food. A week passed, and still no deer. I had done everything I could think of, except one. Pray. So I took my request “upstairs.”

How blessed and thankful I was when the next morning a doe was eating the food. I woke our granddaughter early, and she went outside and slowly walked toward the deer. She got a lot closer than I ever did. She was thrilled! Every day for the rest of her visit, at least one deer visited our yard for something to eat.

How thankful I am that God hears the silly prayers of grandmas.

Prayer for Peace
We know, listening God, that no prayer is insignificant. Whether for world peace or for a butterfly to land on a flower in our garden, we pray with faith that you will hear. We know prayers are answered in unexpected ways, but our prayers always cause us to grow in understanding of all our blessing. They cause us to grow in our understanding of how to share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Joy of Gratitude
Stand, if possible, with arms outstretched. Imagine God filling your arms with all that you have: family, friends, and possessions. Hold out your arms until they feel tired. Now, bring your arms across your body. Place your hand over your heart and thank God for the abundance that fills your life. Sit for a time aware of that abundance. Then ask God to help you open your heart in gratitude and share freely with others.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will not cast aside a prayer thought, thinking it unworthy.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

