Being Met by the Community

Thursday, May 9

5.9By Darren Goble of Humansville, Missouri, USA

…who made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them; who keeps faith forever; who executes justice for the oppressed; who gives food to the hungry. The Lord sets the prisoners free; the Lord opens the eyes of the blind. The Lord lifts up those who are bowed down; the Lord loves the righteous. The Lord watches over the strangers; he upholds the orphan and the widow…

—Psalm 146:6–9

I moved to Independence, Missouri, to work at the book store in the Temple. It was a difficult start. I moved from California to Missouri with nothing but a suitcase of clothes. If it had not been for volunteers in the book store and museum, I wonder how I would have survived that first year.

From their generosity, I received several bags of groceries, my first set of plates and tableware, clothes, the use of their laundry facilities, and friendship. They always seemed to know what I needed and helped me at just the right time.

I would walk around the Temple’s rooftop garden, touching the granite walls, thinking how blessed I was to be there. It was not until years later I realized the blessing was not in the place; the gift was in the people.

I am thankful for God’s gift of those who helped a young man’s first steps into the world. I have received Blessings of Community.

Prayer for Peace
Lead us at just the right moment, God, to know when and where our help is needed. Help us watch over strangers and make them friends. May we share what we can, especially the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Generosity and Discipleship
Bring a basket or other container to your place of prayer. Meditate on the link between generosity and discipleship. Write a prayer of commitment in which you name specific acts of generosity and sharing to which you feel called. Fold the paper and place the prayer in the offering container. Close by singing a hymn of gratitude or praise as you offer your gift to God.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will lift the spirits of someone who is feeling down.

Leave a comment

Comments

