Are We Alone?

Tuesday, May 14

5.14By Sara Parkin of Midlands, Michigan, USA

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; he leads me beside still waters; he restores my soul. He leads me in right paths for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I fear no evil; for you are with me; your rod and your staff— they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord my whole life long.

—Psalm 23

(Part 3 of My Journey with Alzheimer’s Disease)

The other day I was having a pity party for myself. No one else was in the house. Crying out loud, wiping eyes, nose running. No one loved me. No one really knows what it feels like to be an Alzheimer’s person. Then I stopped and cleaned my face, becoming aware I am loved and not alone, that other people do know what it feels like.

God is here. God is unconditional love. God loves me. God is my higher power. I looked back through my journal to read the blessings I can remember God gave me. I wanted to share part of my journal entry with you…

Alzheimer’s sucks. Sorry. It hit me again, and I was mad, sad, and I did not want to write anything that day. Then, I remembered that God has blessed me a lot. I started to write about blessings I could remember that day. I believe the Holy Spirit had a part in my writing.        I was never alone! We are never alone! There are ways we can be comforted in our homes or elsewhere. Snuggle up with a pet or soft quilt. Read, watch TV, talk to friends on the phone. For me, two sources of comfort are prayer and the 23rd Psalm. Try any one or all of these along with the Holy Comforter.

Prayer for Peace
Tender Shepherd, thank you for always being near. Thank you for being the light in our darkest nights. Thank you for your healing Communion table of grace.

Spiritual Practice: Honoring the Worth of All Persons
Read Psalm 139:13–18. After each reading sit quietly and let the words sink deeply into your mind, heart, and body. Imagine God watching you grow in your mother’s womb. What thoughts and feelings do you have about being “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14)?

Sense the intimate knowledge and love God has of you and every child. Be aware of the sacred worth of each person. Weep with God over the soul-wounding forces and events that rob people of dignity and worth. How are you invited to notice, protect, heal, and affirm the spiritual identity of all God’s beloved people today? Pray for God’s compassion.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will visit someone who sits in the dark.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I would still like her permission to re-print her journey through these Daily Bread pieces or talk with her personally about inclusion in the July SHAMROCK NEWSLETTERcan you connect us?

    Thanks! Denise

    *From:* Daily Bread [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] *Sent:* Monday, May 13, 2013 11:02 PM *To:* denise@cofchrist-psi.org *Subject:* [New post] Are We Alone?

    dailybreaddiscipline posted: “Tuesday, May 14 By Sara Parkin of Midlands, Michigan, USA The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; he leads me beside still waters; he restores my soul. He leads me in right paths for his names sake. Even t”

  2. Vera Entwistle

     /  14 May 2013

    Sara, although we have never met, I am sharing your journey with you. Just wanted you to know today that after read your Daily Bread writing, I stopped and said a prayer for you. With love and support from a distance, Vera

Comments

