A Very Present Help

Thursday, May 23

5.23By Karen Anne Smith of Ludington, Michigan, USA

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change, though the mountains shake in the heart of the sea; though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains tremble with its tumult. Selah

—Psalm 46:1–3

My son, Alex, and I had just arrived at the Scottville Riverside Park. Alex ran gleefully ahead to see the river. I quickened my pace to catch up. It was a cold and cloudy autumn day, so no one else was around.

I stepped on something wrong and went down, twisting my already-arthritic knee. Oh, the pain! All I could do was lie in the grass and mud, crying out, “Help me God.”

I was alone with my severely autistic son, with a busy street not far away. I called Alex to come to me, hoping he would respond and not run into traffic. He did come, and he knew how to help me up gently, without excessive tugging. He kept his cool and helped me! I am so proud of him.

When you meet someone who is severely disabled and mute, never doubt someone is in there—a person, a brain, a soul. Never doubt how close God is when you need help. You can bet God was helping Alex help me.

Prayer for Peace
God whose help comes in unexpected ways, may we never doubt the source. May we always see the worth of persons that you see. May we be aware that everyone can share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Opening to God’s Presence
Today’s practice is a prayer of blessing for our bodies as we open them to God’s presence and purposes. Place your hands over your face and eyes, asking God for compassionate vision and insight (30 seconds of silence). Place your hands on your head and ask to be blessed with the mind of Christ (silence). Put your hands over your ears and pray for deep listening to the sounds, words, and needs around you today (silence). Place your hands over your throat and ask God to grant you wise, healing speech (silence). Put both hands over your heart and ask to receive and generously share God’s compassion and peace (silence). Say “thank you and amen.”

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will be aware of potential, even when it is hidden behind a disability.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

