The Real World

Monday, June 10

6-10By Janné Grover of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, USA

Listen to its teachings and discover anew its principles. Do not yearn for times that are past, but recognize that you have been given a foundation of faithful service, even as you build a foundation for what is yet to be.

—Doctrine and Covenants162:2b

I have had several experiences that remind me of the joy and blessings of being in community. The makeup of the community may vary, and the blessings may come in various ways, but all are important. These blessings reinforce Community of Christ’s mission to promote communities of joy, hope, love, and peace.

Our family attended a reunion where we spent the week with family and friends from our congregation and mission center. It was wonderful to draw apart and experience being in a community centered on Christ and focused on renewal and forming discipleship.

After spending time at reunion, it is difficult for me to face going back into the “real world. I want to be back in that peaceful place, away from the distractions and responsibilities of everyday life. I am reminded, however, that I am completely missing the point of service and outreach. I can’t be part of the outward journey if I just want to cling to the safety of that unique and sacred community. I am called to take those experiences, gain strength from them, and participate in creating that sense of sacred community wherever I am.

Prayer for Peace
Thank you, God, for meeting us in our sacred places. May we take your Spirit with us to share wherever we go. Help us share the peace of Christ in our everyday lives.

Spiritual Practice: Offering Blessings of Community
Receive and share Blessings of Community. Begin with a prayer of gratitude for the relationships in your life. See and feel connections with family members, spiritual friends, people in your congregation and community, and people and creatures in God’s sacred web of life. What blessings flow to you from these circles? How have you felt the love of the community?

Reflect, pray, or write in your journal about the call to be “Community of Christ.” Go deeper each day as you discern what act of blessing you are invited to complete.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, as I share in my community, I will invite people to Christ.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Kerry Richards

     /  10 June 2013

    I am enlivened each day by the Daily Bread reflections and spiritual practices which in today’s reading affirms the sacredness of community. I also daily encounter amongst the many happenings of my life the real world in the church community’s Facebook forums where diverse viewpoints from friends and members are continually shared, debated and curiously posed. I have experienced marvellous insight, challenging perspectives and encountered both gracious and provoking attitudes that evoke both positive and negative responses from within me. These forums have become a lesson in learning the realities and layers of faithful disagreement. I find the Daily Bread for me is a safe haven, a foundational daily beginning for personal blessing that enables me to be open to the challenges of sacred yet diverse community.

Comments

