Who’s Your Coach?

Monday, June 17

6-17By Evelyn Richardson of Nauvoo, Illinois, USA

Whoever serves me must follow me, and where I am, there will my servant be also. Whoever serves me, the Father will honor.

—John 12:26

It was our day off from the Joseph Smith Historic Site in Nauvoo, Illinois. We had our list of tasks to accomplish—pick up groceries, gas up the car, get the mail, and so on. We drove across the river into Iowa for our groceries. My husband, Don, and I were commenting on the surroundings when a church sign caught our attention. It read, “Life without God is like trying to dribble a football.”

Now you can add your own interpretation to that message. I quickly recalled playing basketball in high school and the occasional times I hit my foot with the ball. It went flying in a direction I hadn’t planned. Life can be like that, too. Without having God’s direction and with wrongly shaped principles we might as well be trying to dribble an American-style football. Our direction will be driven by the winds, and we may be tossed to and fro.

We each must seek to discover what God would have us be and do in service to others. One Enduring Principle is Continuing Revelation. It states, “In humility, individually and in community, we prayerfully listen to understand God’s will for our lives, the church, and creation more completely.”

Don’t try to dribble a football. God is our head coach, and we need divine guidance in our lives. Follow Christ.

Prayer for Peace
Creator God, may we use the gifts you have given us in the way you intended. May we develop as disciples who make responsible choices to use our tools and talents to share the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Hand Ministry
Place your hand on a piece of paper and trace around it to create an outline. Add details of fingernails, wrinkles, or skin color if desired. Look at your hand and meditate on what you do with your hands each day. Ask God to direct your thoughts to a person in need of blessing, kindness, or healing touch. Pray for wisdom about the specific act needed by this person and discern how and when you will use your hands to complete this ministry.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will not dribble footballs or kick basketballs, but I will use my hands and feet according to your purposes.

Leave a comment

Comments

