Lamenting Tears, Cleansing Tears

Tuesday, June 18

6-18By Peggy Michael of Cantonment, Florida, USA

Save me, O God, for the waters have come up to my neck. I sink in deep mire, where there is no foothold; I have come into deep waters, and the flood sweeps over me. I am weary with my crying; my throat is parched. My eyes grow dim with waiting for my God.

—Psalm 69:1–3

O hard and rigid heart, why do you withhold yourself from those burdened with sorrow? Are you afraid to touch soiled hands and dusty feet? How much does a smile cost? Withholding smiles costs more.

Repent your stubborn ways. Feel the comforting warmth of bodies near you. Remember those far away—those whom only a prayer can reach. O hard and rigid heart, beware, lest your own tears mingle with the forgotten.

Despair mingles with hope as tears fall upon the ground. Tears recall moments of tenderness and regret. The unchecked flood sweeps away my pride and harsh thought. My head, now bowed low, is no longer cast about in haughty nods.

When my tears stop flowing I can see more clearly, for they have washed clean the windows of my soul.

Prayer for Peace
Creator God, your living water blesses us. It does not overcome us with deep, turbulent floods. We have not had to wait as long for you as those who suffer. Is it we, God, who have caused suffering by our apathy and greed? Prompt us to swift action so Christ’s justice and peace will not delay.

Spiritual Practice: Flowing Water
If possible, sit where you can hear the sound of water—a fountain, stream, the sea, (perhaps a recording of water sounds). Listen to the sound as you thank God for the life-giving, life-shaping power of water. Pray for God’s blessing on all the parched places of the Earth where there is injustice, oppression, violence, and disregard for life. Pray for God’s justice to be released and imagine it flowing over the Earth, restoring righteousness and wholeness. Now, get up and drink a glass of clear, cold water as you pray, “God, let your justice flow through me as a disciple of the Lord Jesus.”

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will respond immediately to tears. I will not make the suffering wait.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Winnie Tepper

     /  19 June 2013

    Dear Precious Peggy,
    Thank you for the insight into the soul of all mankind. Thank you for helping me see myself through your writings. I love you and i am forever indebted to you for teaching me so much.
    Winnie

  2. Carolyn Brock

     /  18 June 2013

    Today’s DB is powerful. Thank you Peggy! Thank you Lu! Every piece weaves together to open our hearts to compassion, repentance, tears, grace, and justice.

Comments

