Under the Bed

Monday, June 24

6-24By Ward Serig of Pensacola, Florida, USA

A poor widow came and put in two small copper coins, which are worth a penny. 43Then he called his disciples and said to them, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put in more than all those who are contributing to the treasury. 44For all of them have contributed out of their abundance; but she out of her poverty has put in everything she had, all she had to live on.”

—Mark 12:42–44

Several children in our congregation were preparing for the time when they would enter the waters of baptism. Their teacher asked, “What are some ways you help your parents at home?” One boy responded, “I push everything in my room under the bed so it will look like I cleaned the room.”

I have often thought about the youngster’s reply. I find myself wondering if, and when, I have pushed things “under the bed” and out of sight to impress others. Jesus came down hard on those in his time who behaved in this manner. He didn’t think much of those who prayed in public to remind their hearers how righteous they were.

He affirmed the widow who gave her last, small bit rather than those whose large coins made a loud noise when tossed into the offering bowl. He rebuked those who tithed meticulously but were dishonest in their private dealings, not caring about helping those in need.

Perhaps when I am tempted to push debris “under the bed” I should ask myself, “When will it pile up and be pushed out on the other side for all to see?” A better question might be, “What would Jesus do?”

Prayer for Peace
All-seeing and all-knowing God, may we be sincere in our generosity and give with sacrificial love. May we never separate ourselves from you by trying to hide that for which we are ashamed. May we come repentant and freely receive your grace. May we be transparent and genuine so we may freely share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Making Responsible Choices
Prayerfully seek God’s guidance in your choices. Discernment invites us to orient our lives toward God and God’s vision for us and creation. Begin by reviewing the responsibilities and opportunities in the day before you. Take these choices into prayer, asking God for wisdom and insight about what matters most.

Offer yourself to God with the prayer of Teresa of Avila: “God, what do you want of me today?” Sit prayerfully with this question as you review the day again. Be aware of images, thoughts, names, or actions that come to you. Ask for a blessing to live this day responsibly and compassionately in the Spirit of Christ.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will repent and rejoice in your grace.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Vera Entwistle

     /  24 June 2013

    I love the story you shared about pushing things under the bed. It brought a smile! I’ve known adults who did that! Thanks for reminding me I sometimes do that,too!

Comments

