Humble Yourself

Sunday, July 7

7-7By Lu Mountenay of Independence, Missouri, USA

…”Father, if the prophet had commanded you to do something difficult, would you not have done it? How much more, when all he said, to you was, ‘Wash, and be clean’?” So he went down and immersed himself seven times in the Jordan, according to the word of the man of God; his flesh was restored like the flesh of a young boy, and he was clean.

—2 Kings 5:13–14

“Wash, and be clean.” How easy that is! I have a button from an office-supply store. When you press it, a recorded voice says, “That was easy.” I’ve used it often to ease tensions at awkward times. When we humble ourselves and laugh at our own expense, it’s easier to forgive ourselves and accept the gifts of others.

When I finally admit I might be wrong, I can repair relationships. When I finally admit that, even if I’m right, it doesn’t matter what others think. What matters are the feelings of other people in my life. I need to get past having to be right all the time and accept a serving of humility. It doesn’t taste so bad if it means reconciliation with one who was once estranged.

Got it?

Got it?

Get over it!

Did I catch that someone else’s opinion matters more than mine? (I got it.) Do I take the time to listen and understand their view? (I get it.) Can I get over it? (Get over what? It doesn’t matter anymore.) I move on.

The Spirituality of Imperfection (Ernest Kurtz and Katherine Ketcham) holds an interesting sentiment: “I’m not all-right, and you’re not all-right, but that’s Okay–THAT’s all-right.”

Nobody’s perfect. But, things would be perfect if everyone were humble, like Christ, who said, “Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Matthew 11:29). Perhaps being humble is one way to “Wash, and be clean.”

Prayer for Peace
Creator God, help us accept each other and self as you accept us–with all our flaws. May we pause and be humbled by the mote in our own eye when we begin to judge others. May we share the peace of Christ with a gentle and humble heart.

Spiritual Practice: Weeding the Garden
Inner transformation can take place during daily activities and work. Try cultivating the spiritual discipline of grace and acceptance while weeding your spiritual garden. As you pull each “weed,” offer a short prayer. Tug. (God remove from my heart all prejudice and fear.) Tug again. (God, keep me from making unjust judgments.) As you remove the weed, continue praying. (Plant in my heart the seeds of your love.) If you don’t have a garden, try this kind of transforming prayer while engaging in repetitive activities or work today.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will find rest for my soul, because–even though not perfect, I am loved.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Normally I don’t learn post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very great post.

Comments

