♫ Hymn of the Month: “Clothe Us in Your Spirit”

Monday, July 8

7-8By Sandra Webb-Johnsen of Milton, Washington, USA

…holy and beloved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience. Bear with one another and, if anyone has a complaint against another, forgive each other; just as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.

—Colossians 3:12–14

Music has always touched a deep place in my soul. I hear music as I walk in the forest and as I drive down the road. “Clothe Us in Your Spirit” came to me on the breezes in the woods as they blew through the trees and played with the leaves and branches. The wind whispered that the love of God surrounded me

As I wrote down the melody I’d heard and worked out the harmony, I found the song was about the Holy Spirit. Just like the breezes, the Holy Spirit had wrapped itself around me, comforted me, inspired my understanding, and renewed my soul. The parallel of clothing expressed some feelings and functions of the Spirit, and so the lyrics came to be. The hymn “Clothe Us in Your Spirit” stands as a testimony of my experience with the Holy Spirit and its empowering momentum on my faith journey in this lifetime.

Clothe us in your Spirit.
Robe us in your light.
Enfold us in your vision
and your wisdom’s might.
Weave in us forgiveness.
Wrap us in your gracious care.
Clothed to build your kingdom,
blessed with love we share.

Clothe us with your presence.
Robe us in your light.
In daily strands of healing,
mending lives to grow.
As we choose your bidding
and through you compassion find,
we’ll weave peace and justice
clothing all human-kind.

Prayer for Peace
Holy Presence, surround us with your Spirit. Weave the gifts of the Spirit into our souls. Strengthen the fabric of our being so we may share the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice:
Contemplate this hymn as a poem.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Marlene Krueger

     /  8 July 2013

    Works very well as a lectio divina.

  2. Vera Entwistle

     /  8 July 2013

    Beautiful words to another new hymn I look forward to singing. ! I am anxious for the new hymnal to be available for worship. God bless you in your ministry.

  3. Jewell

     /  8 July 2013

    The words are LOVELY, just lovely!

  1. THE LOVE OF GOD-Traditional Hymns | Ioan17 - John 17
  2. Harmony among the Brethren – FaithsMessenger.Com

Comments

