In God’s Own Time

Tuesday, July 9

7-9By Carol Norris Vincent of Independence, Missouri, USA

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight. 6In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

—Proverbs 3:5–6

Ministers in the Methodist Church called me to be a Stephen Minister (caring ministry). At the same time, my husband was undergoing the first of several cancer surgeries. The timing was terrible, I thought, because my husband would need much care, and my time might be limited. I also felt I might be the one in need of ministry. However, I felt that this was something I needed to do, and with God’s help, I could do it.

In the next two years, I ministered to two dying women. I felt God was preparing me for what was to come. Indeed that ministry prepared me for the spiritual journey with my husband as he was dying.

I returned to my roots in Missouri after my husband’s death and joined Community of Christ. A few years later, I was called to be an elder. I am disabled with post-polio issues. I am in the waning years of my life. I was concerned about being able to fulfill the ministry to which I considered committing myself. I again was concerned about the timing. After much prayer and reading my dad’s priesthood manual, I decided to accept the call.

In the journal I kept during my husband’s illness, I again turned to a scripture that came to me when I decided to accept the call to be a Stephen Minister. Proverbs 3:5–6 says, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.” That scripture has guided me in the past and will in the future. No matter when God calls me, or what is already on my plate, I will trust God and answer the call.

Prayer for Peace
God, may we not be receptive to your call only when we feel ready. We know you ask us to do only what we can do. And with your strength and grace, we can do what matters most, when it matters most. Right now, God, we will answer the call of Christ’s mission to share his peace.

Spiritual Practice: Examining God’s Call to Me and to All
Reflect on God’s call in your life. Begin by prayerfully asking to recall particular moments when you have experienced God’s presence and invitation. Write in your journal or quietly reflect on images and insights that come.

When has God seemed most real in your life? How and when has God called you to use your energies and gifts? When have you felt most deeply connected and responsive to God’s movement in your life?

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will drop whatever I’m doing to answer your call.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Kathleen

     /  10 July 2013

    Thank you have not received one today ?

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Jewell

     /  9 July 2013

    Thanks, Carol, for your heartfelt thoughts.

  3. Vera Entwistle

     /  9 July 2013

    Carol, thank you for sharing. Is there any more deeply spiritual experience than just being with someone who is dying? I had never heard of the Stephen ministry. God bless you as you continue to minister..

  1. God’s Covenant with You For Your Family — John Eckhardt | Books Books Wonderful Books!

Comments

