Ratta-tat-tat!

Wednesday, July 10

7-10By Cindy Korf of North Platte, Nebraska, USA

Jesus said to him, “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have come to believe.”

—John 20:29

I thought I heard a woodpecker in the trees. After a moment of silence, the tapping sounded again. Not believing there could be a woodpecker here, I scanned every tree nearby, trying to spot the bird. Silence. Then, the drumming echoed again.

I left the path, following the sound to try to find its source. I felt the need to see for myself, to know if it truly was a woodpecker. I looked into the trees the few times the rhythmic drumming filtered through the air. But, soon the drumming stopped. I never did find him or see him; being left only with my self-doubt.

There are times when I “hear” God but I refuse to believe. I find myself wanting to prove it with backup senses, thinking I have to “see” to believe, and to know what I hear is real. This doubt has prevented me from believing and responding, and as a result, has kept me from the blessings that faith brings.

Prayer for Peace
When we doubt, God, “show” us your presence as we look at your creation, “touch” our hearts with your love, help us “savor” your grace as we are forgiven. May we inhale Earth’s perfume and trust you are with us.

Spiritual Practice: Connecting with God as Center
Connect with God through journal writing or contemplation. Open yourself to God’s presence and share what flows from your heart and mind. Your “communication with God” might include thoughts, questions, feelings, needs, artwork, quotes, or scriptures. Or it might take the form of a prayer, psalm, or poem. Try to write or meditate at least five minutes each day.

What do you experience? Is this an effective way to connect with God? What surprises you? What new God images or questions emerge? What deepens or changes in your relationship with God, Christ, Spirit?

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will know you are with me in the silence. I will know you are here in the dark.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Donna Nicholson

     /  10 July 2013

    Date: Wed, 10 Jul 2013 13:33:27 +0000 To: dh.nicholson@sympatico.ca

Comments

