I Forgot to Nap

Monday, July 15

7-15By Sara Parkin of Midlands, Michigan, USA

“Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

—Matthew 11:28–30

(Part 5 of My Journey with Alzheimer’s Disease)

Today, for me, Alzheimer’s clouds of weariness are forming where they are not wanted. One minute I feel great, and the next I am exhausted. I’m thankful it does not happen all the time.

I know there are times when I can’t understand why I don’t want to go places I usually like to go. It might be I worked too hard or did not take my nap. How can I forget to take my nap when I’m so tired?

I do know that I can make it better: I can pray for strength, for endurance or for freshness. I can dance with God as I sit in my chair, listening to music. This picks me right up! I can pick up a phone and call a sister who makes me laugh, or I can ask my husband for a hug. I prayed, wrote in my journal, ate healthy food, and walked around the block.

I also know Christ is with me whether I am down or up. When we think we are getting weary, bushed, jaded, or wiped out, we know we are not alone, and we have ways to stop the weariness. Thank You, God! I will rest in you.

Prayer for Peace
Burden-lifting God, may we be willing to let go and give our weariness over to you to carry when we’re not able. Help us be willing to be vulnerable to your grace. May we draw on your strength to help us share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Healing for Broken Spirits
Begin with quiet prayer. Ask God to help you discern some “sore places” in the body of Christ and in God’s creation. Become aware of people who feel separated, wounded, or left out. Reflect on or write a short journal entry of healing words to at least one person who comes to mind. Ask God for words that will touch this person’s broken spirit like healing ointment. Keep this person in your heart and prayers today and act on any ideas that come to bring blessing and wholeness. 

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will save my strength for that which matters most.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Ruth Miluski

     /  20 July 2013

    Is it possible to have access to the first four parts of Sara’s journey? I have been a caregiver for a person who was experiencing a disability similar to Alzheimers so I unerstand that journey but I want to follow it with Sara’s guidance.

  2. Vera Entwistle

     /  15 July 2013

    Sara,you have been in my thoughts and prayers since I read your first Daily Bread submission and I just want you to know I admire your courage and your faith in a loving God. You are an inspiration! God continue to bless you.

  3. Betty Robinson

     /  15 July 2013

    Thank you for sharing your journey with us.

Comments

