Make Me a Blessing

Thursday, July 25

7-25By Evelyn Richardson of Nauvoo, Illinois, USA

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds, so that you may discern what is the will of God—what is good and acceptable and perfect.

—Romans 12:2

The young man in a wheelchair played his guitar and sang beautifully. I asked if he would provide music for A Disciple’s Generous Response at an upcoming service. I was to preside, and my husband was to give the morning message.

He asked what he should sing. I told him I had faith in him and would leave it up to him. His quick response was, “I guess I’ll sing, “Skip to My Lou.” I just smiled and said, “Whatever you say!” I did not see him until the following Sunday’s service.

The theme was “Nothing Can Separate Us from God’s Love.” The young man wheeled himself to the front of the church and began.

“Lou, Lou, Skip to my Lou” as he looked out the corner of his eye at me. I smiled as he continued…“Lou, Lou, Skip to my Lou. Lou, Lou, Skip to my Lou. Skip to my Lou, God’s children.”

His sweet voice continued, and my heart melted. “Bring your offerings to the Lord. Bring your offerings to the Lord. Bring your offerings to the Lord, and God will surely bless you.”

Yes, we were blessed as that ministry of music added to God’s loving presence in our worship that morning. I find when we make our offerings to God, we are blessed. Who knows how many others also will receive blessings because of that offering?

From our Enduring Principles we learn, “We offer all we are and have to God’s purposes as revealed in Jesus Christ. We generously share our witness, resources, ministries, and sacraments according to our true capacity.”

May we allow God to use us as ministers, blessing all we contact on life’s journey.

Prayer for Peace
God of love, accept our outpouring of praise as we sing from our heart. Assure us our simple offerings are worthy and serve as a blessing for you. May we invite all to join in our song.

Spiritual Practice: Growing a Gracious, Generous Heart
Open your heart to God’s grace and generosity with a “breath prayer.” Let your breathing slow and deepen. Be aware of God’s breath moving in and out of your heart. Spend several minutes focusing on breathing in God’s generosity. With each breath, silently name one gift for which you are thankful. Let your heart expand to contain God’s gracious outpouring of love. With each breath out, name one gift you want to share from the overflow of your heart.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will be aware of blessings from new places.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Jewell

     /  25 July 2013

    LOL just delightful!

Comments

