Who Knows?

Monday, July 29

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABy Terry West of Clay Cross, United Kingdom

Be fervent in your witness, passionate in your discipleship, and vigorous in your labor on behalf of peace and justice. Where two or three such disciples form community, there will the Spirit be. Many will come to see.

—Doctrine and Covenants162:8b

Let me share a few facts:

I would like to point out that I do not have a religion. My wife, Jackie, works for Community of Christ as a bookkeeper at the Clay Cross, United Kingdom, offices. She attends church every week with our children, Brandon and Tyler. We’re bringing them up with strong Community of Christ principles. I do attend church on occasion to support my family.

A couple of years ago we went to reunion (family camp) at Dunfield House for three days. This was the first time I had met with a large gathering of church members outside the Clay Cross Congregation.

The next year we attended reunion for the whole week—what a joy! The camp was full of great spirit. The singing was a joy. Conversation was a pleasure. I was asked to say a few words about what I gained from my reunion experience, which I gladly did. What came across most was the unconditional love from everyone. The passion and commitment of the young adults was high—they are the church’s future. It was a shame the week had to end.

On returning home, I was sitting at the dining table, just pondering. I noticed my wife’s Daily Bread on the table. I picked it up and started to read. I got involved with the stories inside, which led me to send you this story.

The point I’m trying to make is the people, each and every one, of Community of Christ have something special. This experience will stay with me forever, and I hope one day to say I am a member. For now, it’s just one step at a time. Who knows?

I needed to let someone know my thoughts. Thanks for listening.

Prayer for Peace
God, keep us ever mindful that we always witness of you. May we always have an inclusive and sharing spirit. May we always share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Invite People to Christ
Read and reflect on Doctrine and Covenants 162:3b and 163:2b. Pray to be aware of people who might be receptive, and therefore blessed, by your sharing of the message of the Living Christ. Imagine being in relationship with them and inviting them to Christ. In preparation, discover your personal testimony of Christ. “Be persistent in your witness and diligent in your mission to the world.” Repeat this mantra throughout the day: “Christ’s mission, our mission, my mission.”

Peace Covenant:
Today, God, I will extend to a stranger an invitation to “come and see.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Adele

     /  29 July 2013

    Thanks for sharing. You have a listening ear in Bribie Island, Australia.

  2. David Brock

     /  29 July 2013

    This is one of my favorites. I love Dunfield and hold special memories going back to 1985 and forward to 2007. I’m appreciative of the affirmation of the community from one who sees in us what we sometimes miss. Thank you, Terry.

  3. Vera Entwistle

     /  29 July 2013

    Hello Terry, Greetings from Colorado, USA. I was born in Wigan and joined the church at the age of 16 after attending my first youth camp up on Ilkley Moor. It was the best decision I ever made. My faith journey has taken me from Wigan to the USA, Australia, China and now back again in the USA. I still remember the impact of the camp and the singing which inspired me to become a Campfire Leader. The caring support of church friends following my dad’s suicide led me to working with children with cancer for twenty years and my ordination as a Seventy. Just wanted to cheer you on on your life journey. Who knows where it will take you? Thanks for sharing. Dunfield is a special place.

Comments

