Share Generously

Sunday, August 4

8-4By Lu Mountenay of Independence, Missouri, USA

“Take care! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of possessions. So it is with those who store up treasures for themselves…”

—Luke 12:15, 21

I feel challenged by the Mission Initiative, Abolish Poverty, End Suffering. Not just discuss it. Not just relieve it. Not just reduce it. ABOLISH it. Bog job! Help wanted!

It’s had for me to write from an impoverished point of view, because I’ve never known poverty. I can only imagine. I just left a Shalom Place encounter at the Temple entitled “Voices for Radial Justice.” Brad Martell, Peace and Justice Ministries, guided us through a discussion about poverty, why it exists, and what we can do about it.

I guess I’m fired up. This thought comes to me: I need to rise my voice, as well as my eyebrows, when I see injustice!

Charitable giving is great as a stopgap, duct-tape measure. It’s necessary to relieve suffering, for now. It’s good for the material “haves” to give to the “have-nots.” But in tandem with sharing. I need to understand.

I need to explore why the “have-nots” have naught, why I am a “have” and they are “have nots.” Why I write “I” and “they,” when it should be “we” together, in community.

In London, getting on and off the “Tube,” I heard, “Mind the gap.” Just so you step for enough to safety. I could do more than just mind the growing gap between the very rich and the very poor (not that I’m very rich…well…maybe I am). I need to find ways to bridge the gap and take giant steps for peace and justice. I need to promote justice that doesn’t try to justify the existing canyon of a gap.

This wide difference in wealth divides, denies, separates, segregates, isolates, marginalizes, endangers, and excludes. It causes humans to suffer.

Christ is the bridge that invites, welcomes, reaches, teaches, embodies, embraces, serves, and shares. Generously, Can I do any less?

Prayer for Peace
God of justice, we come with heavy hearts, knowing we haven’t yet done all we can to end suffering. Help us make Christ’s mission our mission. Help us share the peace and justice of Jesus Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Abolish Poverty, End Suffering
Reflect on John 21:15–17 as a meditation. Let your mind be drawn to places where the hungry wander the streets or live in shelters. Let their images fill your mind. Offer a prayer for those who are suffering. Imagine Christ tending those sheep. Think of ways you might end their suffering as part of your mission. Throughout the day, carry in your mind the voice of Christ saying: “Feed my lambs…tend my sheep…”

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will shed tears of compassion, but then I will break a good sweat working for justice.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Jewell

     /  7 August 2013

    Thank you Lu

  2. Lu Mountenay

     /  5 August 2013

    Yes, sorry folks for at least five typos in the blog version. The book and bulletins are correct. We’re looking into why this happens. Good catch!
    Lu, editor

  3. Justice Manning

     /  4 August 2013

    Should “bog” in the last line of the first paragraph be “big?”
    Should “had” in the first line of the second paragraph be “hard?”
    These seem to fit better.

Comments

