In Good Hands

Friday, August 16

8-16By Barbara Howard of Independence, Missouri, USA

…I will not forget you. See, I have inscribed you on the palms of my hands.

—Isaiah 49:15–16

If you look deeply into the palm of your hand, you will see your parents and all generations of your ancestors. All of them are alive in this moment. Each is present in your body. You are the continuation of each of these people.

 —Thich Nhat Hanh
Present Moment, Wonderful Moment

As our daughter, Joy, visited with my sister, Beverly, she suddenly exclaimed, “Aunt Bev, your hands are exactly like Mom’s.” It’s true, and both of us have hands identical to our mother’s. But she left us a legacy far greater than the shape of our hands. Her faith in Christ Jesus was sure and strong. Memories of the communion of Community of Christ since early childhood and our mother’s church family nurtured her faith.

I am thankful for my mother’s hands and even more grateful for her legacy of faith. It was with great delight that I received a card written by our son, Jim, who writes for a greeting-card company. The verse began:

My mother had her hands full raising me. So I know that when she clasped them together in prayer, she must have been greatly relieved to set aside the trouble and tasks of motherhood and hold on to her faith.

The poem continues to describe the events of childhood, closing with, “Mother, I always knew I was in good hands.” A parent who prays for a child is comforted by the child’s acknowledgment of the source of strength and power.

God promises us continuing divine presence in our lives, sustained by the inscription carved on God’s palms. Such assurance is life’s greatest gift. It is the good news we share with others as we invite them into the community. Invite People to Christ.

Prayer for Peace
We rest in the palms of your hands, God, assured that you will not forget us. Assure us of your love. Assure us of your promise of peace for us to share.

Spiritual Practice: Hand Ministry
Place your hand on a piece of paper and trace around it to create an outline. Add details of fingernails, wrinkles, or skin color if desired. Look at your hand and meditate on what you do with your hands each day. Ask God to direct your thoughts to a person in need of blessing, kindness, or healing touch. Pray for wisdom about the specific act needed by this person and discern how and when you will use your hands to complete this ministry.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will ponder my hands as representing all who have gone before, sharing Christ’s peace.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Vera Entwistle

     /  16 August 2013

    Barbara, when I see your name on any writing, I know I should stop and carefully read. You never disappoint me. The scripture for today is one I cherish,too. Lots of love.

Comments

