“Pardon Me, Telephone Pole”

Monday, August 19

8-19By Flo McDonald of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, USA

And there came a voice to them, a pleasant voice, as if it were a whisper, saying “Peace, peace be to you because of your faith in my well beloved, who was from the foundation of the world.”

—Helaman 2:112

In 1962, before clean-air laws were enacted, our family lived in Santa Monica, California, near Los Angeles. Smog could be a problem. One day our 12-year-old son, Joe, left early for school. The usual understanding was that he would come straight home after school. This particular day he had permission to stay at school and play basketball. This is his story in his words:

As I approached the basketball courts I noticed the sky was beginning to turn gray, and the air was difficult to breathe. After we’d played about 30 minutes, the smog thickened. The coach told us to check in our equipment and get home. I had more than a mile to walk up a busy street. I knew my parents would worry, so I hurried as fast as I could.

I started walking in the direction I thought would get me home. It was hard to tell. I walked slowly until I heard the sounds of traffic. I thought I had come to Ocean Park, the street we lived on. Cautiously I walked up the street, trying not to run into anyone or anything. It was taking much longer than the usual 20 minutes.

All I remember is that I prayed all the way that I would get home safely. After stumbling and running into telephone poles, I finally saw our apartment building. I was so happy I could have cried. My parents were happy and relieved to see me. After answering a lot of questions I thanked God for my safe return.

Mom talking: Our family realized that day how blessed we were and were thankful. In difficult times relying on the power of God is a wonderful way to cope with and work through our fears.

Prayer for Peace
Tender Shepherd, may we listen carefully for your whispering voice and find light for the journey in your presence. May we place our fears in your hands. Increase our faith in Christ, whose peace we share.

Spiritual Practice: Light
Close your eyes, and become centered with your breath. Reflect on the statement, “The light of God is in all things,” as you breathe gently in and out. Sense or see a point of light in the distance, coming gradually toward you. With each breath it comes closer, growing in size and brightness. The light has a bright, soft beauty and radiates loving peace. The light of God reaches you and permeates you with a deep sense of peace. Rest in the light as it surrounds and fills you. Thank God that you live in God’s light and it lives in you.

Peace Covenant
Today God, I will pray for direction through the fog and confusion in my life.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Vera Entwistle

     /  19 August 2013

    I smiled as I read this story, remembering a time when I was a teenager living in England. I had spent the afternoon at a friends home, but when thick fog rolled in I caught the bus home. The bus crawled along, sounding its horn to warn pedestrians. As we finally arrived close to my home I quickly got off the bus and jumped into a telephone pole..result..two black eyes! Thanks for sharing.

Comments

