Encouragement for the Journey

Tuesday, August 27

8-27By Gary McDonald of Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

Open your hearts and feel the yearnings of your brothers and sisters who are lonely, despised, fearful, neglected, unloved. Reach out in understanding, clasp your hands, and invite all to share in the blessings of community created in the name of the One who suffered on behalf of all.

—Doctrine and Covenants 161:3a–c

My wife, Clare, and I made many car trips from Ohio to the Kansas City, Missouri, area to see our family. A trip would take about 12 hours one way. We made these jaunts to remain connected.

We suffered one hot summer day driving through the farmlands of Indiana. We pulled off the road to take advantage of a rest area. I was tired and needed a break. Walking to the restroom, we passed an older man who had raised the hood of his car and was peering inside. The urge to stop and help tugged at me, but I overrode it and went my way. “Besides” I thought. “There are plenty of people here who can help.”

On my return, I passed the old man again and plainly could see nobody was paying any attention to him. Reluctantly, I engaged him in conversation. I asked if he was having engine trouble; I could help if it was something minor. He said, “No. It’s just so hot I’m worried about my car.” He worried about the risk of being stranded in the heat. I inspected hoses and so forth but saw nothing wrong. I told him everything looked fine. He looked relieved continued his journey.

Later I shared this story with a friend because the meaning puzzled me. My friend suggested that sometimes in life people just need reassurance and encouragement to continue their journey. We need to feel we are not alone.

Prayer for Peace

God who leads us on our journeys, as we go let us be aware of companion travelers and their needs. Let us offer help when we can and share Christ’s love and peace with those who are alone.

Spiritual Practice: Invite People to Christ
Read and reflect on Doctrine and Covenants 162:3b and 163:2b. Pray to be aware of people who might be receptive, and therefore blessed, by your sharing of the message of the Living Christ. Imagine being in relationship with them and inviting them to Christ. In preparation, discover your personal testimony of Christ. “Be persistent in your witness and diligent in your mission to the world.” Repeat this mantra throughout the day: “Christ’s mission, our mission, my mission.”

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will map out a plan to Invite People to Christ.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Marlene Krueger

     /  27 August 2013

    I have come to realize more than ever the idea that we are not alone on the journey. Recently my journey has taken a significant turn and although frightening at times to me, there have been many who have stopped to let me know that I am not alone.

Comments

