A Thousand Voices

Friday, September 20

9-20By Becky Willis Shantz of Lamoni, Iowa, USA

“You are the light of the world. A city built on a hill cannot be hid. No one after lighting a lamp puts it under the bushel basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.”

—Matthew 5:14–16

I often work as a substitute teacher. This gives me a good opportunity to work with children and youth, a passion for me.

I didn’t realize I would be blessed in unexpected ways. Hardly a day goes by that I don’t receive inspiration that is just what I need in my life at that moment. I glean from sources such as posters on a classroom or hall wall, items on a teacher’s desk, or even subject matter for students.

Recently I subbed for a high school English teacher. Some students gave speeches using an inspirational story they had chosen. As I listened, I felt awe. Here I was again…blessed and uplifted at a most unexpected time. I asked for copies of the stories. Not only were the words encouraging, I thought they were perfect to contribute to a book of devotional readings my sister was compiling. This was a double blessing!

One quote from the stories jumped at me: “It takes a thousand voices to tell a single story” (Native American proverb).

Thank you, again! As we travel life’s journey together, we can never know from where the voice of help and inspiration will come. We connect to a spiritual community that reveals itself to us continually. I can’t help thinking this was God pouring out blessing after blessing that day. Each of us has the potential to be the voice that inspires and gives strength to others at moments when most needed. Let your light shine.

Prayer for Peace
God whose story we tell through the ages, thank you for sending your Son that we might better understand you. Help us share the peace that he taught us.

Spiritual Practice: Teacher-learner
The first disciples of Jesus followed to hear his words, to be taught, to learn a new way of living, to practice what they learned in daily life. Prayerfully consider your role as a teacher-learner, disciple-apprentice, a people cultivator in Community of Christ. In your journal, write the names of several persons you discern as teachers or mentors and several you feel called to nurture and encourage in specific ways. Ask God’s blessing on you and your congregation as a community of learners.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will share my story and invite someone to Christ.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. don mitchell

     /  14 October 2013

    Date: Fri, 20 Sep 2013 06:04:57 +0000 To: mitchell_donmary@sympatico.ca

Comments

