Serve God

Sunday, September 22

9-22By Robert Adie of Kisumu, Kenya

No slave can serve two masters; for a slave will either hate the one and love the other, or be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and wealth.”

—Luke 16:13

Many years ago in my village in Kenya I and my wife visited an old woman who was living alone in her small two-room house. When we approached the door I called to inquire whether there was someone in the house or not. There was no response and the door was a half opened. When we entered in and I made a second call and she responded with low deep voice, “enter, am not feeling well.”

When we entered the bedroom which was dark without proper ventilation, we called her by name and she recognized my voice. “Karibu, my son” (this is a Swahili word for welcome). The smell was not pleasant. I opened the window and went closer to the bed to hold her hands and listen to her.

When I approached the bed I saw very may bed bugs trying to hide in the beddings. I prayed for courage and found myself having to take a deep breath. Without thinking I managed to get her out of bed and carry her outside to bask in God’s sunlight. When now my wife and I look at her, we realize that she could not go back to that bed without our further action.

As my wife continued to talk to her about Christ who she knew very much about I went in to remove the bed and all the beddings outside to the sun. My wife took charge of the mattress, sheets and blankets and cleaned with soap and water and placed them on the shrubs for the sun to dry them. I went to the house and clean the entire place with insecticide powder leaving no chance for the bed bugs to live.

When we finished the works and went back to her, she told us that she has been sick for a week and nobody has gone to see her. On the night after our visit, she felt that Christ promised that she would get well. We prepared food for her and my wife bathed her and she got healed. She told us how she had a good peaceful sleep and she offered a blessing prayer. She testified this to everybody she met. She always encouraged us to do good to everybody in need. I felt I had met a challenge as part of my walk with Christ. I felt I had served my God.

Prayer for Peace
Tender Shepherd, may we work to serve Christ’s mission of compassion.

Spiritual Practice: Abolish Poverty, End Suffering
Read and reflect on John 21:15–17 as a meditation. Let your mind be drawn to places where people have no homes. Be aware of the insufferable conditions of poverty. Let the images fill your mind. Imagine Christ tending those sheep. Think of ways you might end their suffering as part of your mission. Throughout the day, hear the voice of Christ saying: “Feed my lambs…tend my sheep…feed my sheep.”

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will not be repulsed by poverty’s infestations, but will bring them into your healing light.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Susan Gregory

     /  2 October 2013

    What a beautiful testimony you have to share. You were indeed the very presence of Jesus to this woman. God bless you as you continue to share God’s love.

  2. Barbara Miller

     /  22 September 2013

    I have been saddened by the news of the tragedy unfolding in Kenya. When I read the Daily Bread this morning I was so touched by the beauty of the couple ministering in the name of Christ. I was humbled by the contrast of my life as an elderly woman here to what that dear woman was enduring in Kenya. We worship a tender Shepherd and this challenges me to be more like Him. I pray for all those in Kenya who have been touched by this tragic evil. Onward with the Mission of Jesus Christ to bring light into all the dark places in this world.

  3. Vera Entwistle

     /  22 September 2013

    Your story touched me deeply. I wonder if I would have had the courage to do what you and your wife did for this woman. Instead of being repulsed, you did the Christ like thing. God bless you and your wife for your loving ministry.

Comments

