A Kind and Compassionate Voice

Monday, September 23

9-23By Don Streeter of Dallas, Oregon, USA

Then he shouted, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!”

Luke 18:38

(Inspired by scripture)

“You are beautiful!”

You might wonder why a stranger would say this to you. But you must understand—until three days ago I was blind. I lost my sight as a child and lived as a beggar on the road outside Jericho.

For many days recently as people passed, I heard them talking about a preacher named Jesus. He traveled the area teaching and preaching. I learned he was a descendant of David. He had the gift of healing. Some said he might even be the prophesied Messiah. But what do I know of prophets and Messiahs? Blind beggars aren’t welcome in the synagogues.

What I wanted more than life itself was to see—to see flowers and faces, sunrises and sunsets. I wanted to see even the dirt upon my feet. If only this Jesus could heal me. But how could I find him? Who would take me to him?

Then my whole life changed. As I sat on the road begging, I heard a crowd approaching. “What is this? Who passes by?” A person joyfully answered, “It’s Jesus of Nazareth. Come.” My heart leapt inside me. Jesus, the one who could make me see again. In my soul I knew he could heal me. I had no doubt. I cried out, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!” He just had to hear me!

Someone from the crowd told me to hold my peace, that Jesus had important things to do. He had no time for me. But I knew he could heal me if he could just hear me. I called out again, “Son of David, Son of David, hear me. Have mercy on me!”

Through the noise of the crowd I heard Jesus ask that I come to him. They led me to where I could feel a strong presence, and I knew Jesus must be near. I feared I might collapse. But a kind and compassionate voice said to me, “What do you want me to do for you?” With a calm voice I answered him, “Lord, let me see again.”

Then he said to me, “Receive your sight; your faith has saved you.” Immediately I could see. The first person I saw was a man who, despite great fatigue, carried an uncommon strength. As my newly opened eyes met his I saw a depth of love and compassion I had never known.

I praised God right there. I blessed God for my wholeness. Your bodies may not be blind, crippled, or sick; but your spirit may be blind to God’s love, crippled with hate, or sick with loneliness.

Call to him as I did, “Jesus, Son of God, have mercy on me!” Ask him as I did, “Have mercy on me!”

Prayer for Peace
Open our eyes, God, that we may see your love.

Spiritual Practice: The Jesus Prayer of Mercy
Silently enter prayer. Greet God and take up the prayer phrase: Lord, Jesus Christ (as you breathe in)…have mercy on me (as you breathe out). Prayerfully repeat these words several times. Breathe in the transforming presence of Christ.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will be transformed as I accept your mercy.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Susan Gregory

     /  2 October 2013

    Your sharing of that familiar story made it so real, I could almost visualize it happening. I hope you write more! It’s been a while since we’ve seen each other, my hubby and I are now living in Bend. Blessings to you!!

  2. Dorene Kilburn

     /  27 September 2013

    Don, I wrote Lu to tell her how much I appreciated your devotion, and found out from her that if I signed up for online DB I could write you directly, so here I am. I was deeply moved by what you wrote. It was a reminder that all too often we read scripture in a very superficial way. You made scripture come alive and caused me to bring the message and setting to our day and see it in a fresh light. The ability to do that is a very special gift!

  3. Vera Entwistle

     /  23 September 2013

    Don, what a wonderful way to reconnect with you through Daily Bread. We are currently living in Fort Collins but will return to Australia for a long visit in November. God bless.

Comments

