Kindred Spirit

Thursday, September 26

9-26By Shirley Remmenga of Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

And you will not have a mind to injure one another, but to live peaceably, and to render to every one according to that which is their due.

—Mosiah 2:24, adapted

One fall morning, I was standing at my kitchen sink, looking out toward the lawn between my house and the house next door. A slender-nosed, bushy-tailed red fox came around the corner of the house. She carried something white in her mouth. She went directly to a big flowerpot on the neighbor’s sidewalk, jumped up, dug a hole, and dropped it in. She covered it up, jumped down, loped around the house, and was gone.

She tempted me to go see what she buried. I started to leave the sink, but another thought halted me. Do I have the right to invade her privacy? Why do I need to know what it is? Why can’t I accept the mystery? That beautiful creature deliberately had hidden something of value to her that she would unearth later. If I disturbed it, she would know, and perhaps it wouldn’t be of any use to her then. So, I left it there.

I never saw her return for it, but I’m sure she did. I enjoyed seeing her occasionally after that, just running along the greenbelt next to the houses. She and I shared the same space, so to speak. She didn’t threaten my life, and I didn’t want to leave footprints in her habitat. We had a kinship in a sense. It was a good feeling and a blessing for me to have this peaceful connection with one of God’s beautiful, clever creatures.

Prayer for Peace
Creator God, thank you for the creatures that share our world. We learn about you and see your mystery in them. We would leave them in peace. We would share Christ’s peace, which teaches us to restore right relationships with creation.

Spiritual Practice: Caring for God’s Sacred Creation
Choose a way to notice, give thanks, and care for God’s sacred creation. Prayerfully consider one of the following practices or create your own. Walk in nature with a spirit of gratitude while looking and listening for God in all things. Write or pray a psalm of praise for the Earth’s beauty or a prayer of healing and blessing for its wounds.

Learn about and engage in an act of Earth-keeping such as recycling, simple living, or fasting from over-consumption of resources. Notice the diversity of the planet’s creatures and be gentle to plants, animals, trees, and people! Fall in love with the vast, intricate wonder of God’s creation and give thanks.

Peace Covenant:
Today, God, I will leave the stone unturned and bless what lies beneath.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Comments

