Discovery

Friday, October 4

10-4By Evelyn Spence of Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

Let us then pursue what makes for peace and for mutual upbuilding.

—Romans 14:19.

I enjoyed a long career as a middle grade elementary teacher. Now I tutor new readers in our congregation’s tutoring program. This is where I teach kindergarteners. What fun! Many days I witness children involved in discovery.

Recently, the little girl with whom I was working said, “I can’t read.”

I responded, “Oh yes you can. Just try this book, and you’ll see. You’ll be surprised at how many words you already know. If you come to a hard one, I’ll help you figure it out.”

The book had much encouraging repetition and colorful pictures that gave clues to the appealing story. When she finished the ten-page book with just a little help from me, she looked at me with pride and gleaming eyes. “This book is fun. Can we read it again?” she asked.

I thank God that I was part of the formation of a young disciple. I thank God that I was blessed to be a blessing.

Curiosity killed the cat?
We’ll have none of that!
Curiosity skilled the child
And so the child smiled.
—Lu

Prayer for Peace
God of discovery, surprise, and curiosity, may we always search for new understandings of your creation. May we always search for new ways to teach your word and share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Listening to Children
Sit in your quiet place and center your heart and mind on God’s presence. Spend several minutes asking God to bring into your awareness the names and images of children in your life. You may see their faces or hear their voice as you receive these impressions. Listen deeply to the unique gifts and needs of the children who come to mind. Offer a prayer of blessing for each child and the needs you perceive. If you feel led, you also may want to write a note or card and give a message of affirmation and love to each child.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will ask “how?” and “why?” I will let my eyes gleam with a new awareness.

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Vera Entwistle

     /  4 October 2013

    How wonderful to see your name this morning, and to learn you are still a blessing to others. We remember you with fondness from our years in Council Bluffs. God bless!

Comments

