The Creator’s Rhapsody

Friday, October 11

10-11By John Bonney of Springfield, Oregon, USA

For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ. If one member suffers, all suffer together with it; if one member is honored, all rejoice together with it. Now you are the body of Christ and individually members of it.

—1 Corinthians 12:12, 26–27

One October day I was driving into town and had just rounded the corner. Suddenly I saw what God wanted me to see. There was a stiff breeze blowing and the autumn leaves seemed to follow the lyrics and melody of a song as they fell to the ground. The leaves were small, glowing like gold as they floated earthward. Before my eyes was a blizzard of yellow-orange leaves dancing through the air on the wings of the wind, heading toward their final resting place.

I became aware of two brief periods of my life journey. I thank God for the early spring and middle autumn. In the spring fling the flowering trees are in bloom. It doesn’t last long, but it’s breathtaking and wonderful in shades of pink, white, yellow, and lavender. And, in the fall suddenly the leaves turn color. I can’t improve on the rhapsodies that writers have woven about the colors of fall leaves. But, I can enjoy the moment when God gives them one last chance to shine with the spectacular colors of their crowning death.

The elderly and the young alike are part of the body of Christ. I like to think that I “bloomed” adequately in the springtime of my life. I pray that I have given someone a lift like the wind that inspires blossoms to fly in spring. And I hope to glow, however briefly, like the brightly colored leaves of fall as they move on toward their final and eternal sleep while nourishing the Earth.

Prayer for Peace
Creator God, may we dance in every season of our lives. May we inspire one another with our colorful spirits. May we lift someone from darkness by sharing the peace of Jesus Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Honoring the Worth of All Persons
Read Psalm 139:13–18. After each reading sit quietly and let the words sink deeply into your mind, heart, and body. Imagine God watching you grow in your mother’s womb. What thoughts and feelings do you have about being “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14)?

Sense the intimate knowledge and love God has of you and every child. Be aware of the sacred worth of each person. Weep with God over the soul-wounding forces and events that rob people of dignity and worth. How are you invited to notice, protect, heal, and affirm the spiritual identity of all God’s beloved people today? Pray for God’s compassion.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will be aware of my season and rejoice in it.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. merna Short

     /  11 October 2013

    I loved the poetry in this contribution. Pictures that come to life in poetic form.Reminds me to keep aware in recognising and in living.
    Thank you.

Comments

