Emma’s Church

Monday, October 21

10-21By Lillian Kirby of Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

You who are my disciples must be found continuing in the forefront of those organizations and movements which are recognizing the worth of persons and are committed to bringing the ministry of my Son to bear on their lives.

—Doctrine and Covenants 151:9

At times, we might wonder why we spend time attending Temple School classes, studying the scriptures, and engaging in corporate and personal meditation. Like the Apostle Paul, challenges test our faith for what is yet to come.

While serving as a chaplain at the Temple in Independence, Missouri, I sat at my desk reading the “Basic Beliefs.” The connection between them and the Enduring Principles captured my interest. Soon I received a phone call from a woman in California wanting to talk to a chaplain about “Emma’s church,” a reference to Emma Smith, the wife of the church’s founder and the mother of the church’s second president.

Such a call coming long-distance surprised me, and even more so hearing her call Community of Christ “Emma’s church.” Her way of honestly questioning the history and beliefs of the church challenged me.

Over the next hour God was my partner. Not only preparing me for this challenging inquiry, but with spiritual direction. So I pulled from my knowledge of past studies and experiences to try to carry truth to a waiting, seeking soul. Even after our hour-long discussion, she wanted to know more. I was then physically, mentally, and spiritually drained.

Several days later, she asked for a copy of the Doctrine and Covenants. I mailed her a complimentary copy. I also sent her the address and phone number of the nearest congregation to her home.

May God reward her faith journey with insight and peace of mind. May I continue study and prayer to be a ready and willing witness. May I make Christ’s mission my mission.

Prayer for Peace
God of wisdom, make us ready and willing witnesses of your love. Prompt us to study and learn the history of our faith, the Enduring Principles, and Mission Initiatives. Equip us for sharing Christ’s love and peace.

Spiritual Practice: Invite People to Christ
Read and reflect on Doctrine and Covenants 162:3b and 163:2b. Pray to be aware of people who might be receptive, and therefore blessed, by your sharing of the message of the Living Christ. Imagine being in relationship with them and inviting them to Christ. In preparation, discover your personal testimony of Christ. “Be persistent in your witness and diligent in your mission to the world.” Repeat this mantra throughout the day: “Christ’s mission, our mission, my mission.”

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will be ready to share the Living Christ with a neighbor or someone far away.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

