I Am Here

Thursday, October 31

10-31By Ramona Seeley of Leeton, Missouri, USA

I will make a covenant of peace with them; it shall be an everlasting covenant with them; and I will bless them and multiply them, and will set my sanctuary among them for evermore. My dwelling place shall be with them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

—Ezekiel 37:26–27

His Footsteps

I cannot help but know there is a God.
I have seen the footsteps where He has trod.
They left their mark on valley, hill, and sea,
On hearts and minds and souls—and me.

 It was a gloomy day outside and I was feeling despondent. I was 18 and still feeling the loss of my mother, even though she had been gone for six years. Suddenly, the clouds parted and a beam of light landed directly on my desk. It felt like God was saying to me, “I am here.” I immediately penned this poem.

When I think back, I know God has been with me many times when I wasn’t aware of the Divine presence. I am blessed with joy when I write my experiences. I hope you know God is with you always.

Prayer for Peace
Covenant God, we see evidence of your presence all around. You bless us with your presence. We are indeed your people as we share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: God’s Healing Light
Today’s intercessory prayer is adapted from the Quaker tradition. Become still and turn your attention to God. Prayerfully identify a person who is in need of healing, blessing, or guidance. Close your eyes and imagine God’s presence surrounding the person. See or sense the person being held in God’s light. Continue holding the person in the light and release the person into whatever blessing God knows is needed. Words are not necessary. Trust the Spirit to see and penetrate more deeply than human awareness. Thank God and close with “amen.”

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will hold another to your healing light.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Vera Entwistle

     /  31 October 2013

    Our recent visit to Independence and our experience at the Peace Colloquy were a wonderful reminder of God[s blessings to us and reminded us of years past when we served as youth leaders at Stone Church. Great to read your testimony today…another reminder that God is with us and we need to be alert to those signals of his presence..

Comments

