From the Diversity Team: Unity in Diverse Communities

Monday, November 4

11-4By Markie McCoy (Red Feather) of Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

God is calling for a prophetic community to emerge, drawn from the nations of the world…characterized by uncommon devotion to the compassion and peace of God revealed in Jesus Christ…Chief among these is the power of community in Christ expressed locally in distinctive fashions while upholding a unity of vision… and mission throughout the world.

—Doctrine and Covenants 163:11

Through the years, contact with Community of Christ has blessed me. My life is different because of the Gospel of Christ and through Christian ministry I received. I felt loved by my Native American family, but my mother’s illnesses sent our lives in a different direction. My father tried to raise my brother, sister, and me with the help of my two older sisters. I was five when my mother passed away. Conditions worsened after that.

My self-esteem and outlook on life were affected by an abusive stepmother, Indian boarding school, and separation from my family for many years while in foster homes. My father, unable to both work and care for us, finally sought help from Community of Christ families who responded to us with care.

Both as a child and as an adult, I have many fond memories about members of the church. I recall my teen group Sunday school teacher teaching what we now call the Enduring Principles. Guest ministers also blessed us by sharing many wonderful stories of their experiences in ministry. There were kind people from our congregations, youth retreats, and family reunions who loved us and accepted us.

Because of these contacts, I grew not only to trust again, but, I also grew spiritually closer to God. Since age sixteen I have read my scriptures intensively and sought to be of help to others. I feel God has given me a Christ-like heart that has shown me a love for people that sees beyond color or station in life.

Being on the Community of Christ Diversity Team allows me to pass forward the blessings I have received. Because of my new direction in life, I now have the opportunity as a psychoanalyst–psychotherapist, and most of all as a Christian, to give back to the community and beyond.

Prayer for Peace
Universal God, help us break down the walls that divide us. Help us see beyond skin color to colorful souls within. May we accept and embrace the diversity of your creation. May we respond by sharing Christ’s love and peace.

Spiritual Practice: Welcoming Unity in Diversity
Meditate on Unity in Diversity. Create a large circle with your arms. See and feel the diverse people God invites inside the sanctuary of Christ’s peace represented by this circle.

Who is easiest to welcome? Whom do you struggle to include? Ask God to forgive and heal barriers that keep us from loving one another.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will study the history of another culture.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Daniel E Waite

     /  4 November 2013

    Markie –You are a blessing to many –and Bill and Irene were so proud of you and gave them such wonderful care –and pleased to hear of you again -Dan and Alice Waite, call when you are in Independence.

  2. Vera Entwistle

     /  4 November 2013

    Dear Markie, What a wonderful story of not just survival but growth when one is loved and nurtured. I am so glad your path crossed with our church. You are a very special witness who can share a strong testimony with others. God continue to bless you richly as you now reach out to others. We live in Colorado and would be proud to have you in our home and congregation to share your story.

Comments

