The Spirit among You

Thursday, November 14

11-14By Don Richardson of Nauvoo, Illinois, USA

You are a good and faithful people, but sometimes you fail to see the power that is resident in your own story and fellowship. Look carefully, listen attentively, and sense the Spirit among you.

—Doctrine and Covenants 162:8a

During the harvest season of thankfulness, the service planner asked me to offer the benediction for the Sunday worship. In preparation, I thought about what I should include in the prayer on that particular Sunday. I wanted it to express thankful, hopeful, and joyful feelings. I rehearsed this prayer in my mind several times. When I offered the prayer, it flowed well. After the service, I thought about the prayer I had prepared in my mind and the prayer I spoke. I realized I used words and phrases I do not usually use when I speak or pray. I then realized that the Holy Spirit was guiding me as I offered that prayer.

In Doctrine and Covenants 162:8a, God promises when we “Look carefully, listen attentively” we will sense the Spirit with us. May each of us be ready and willing to serve wherever we can. May we keep ourselves open and receptive to the message of that “still small voice.”

An old hymn expresses this reflection, “Breathe on me breath of God.” May we let that same Holy Spirit breathe in our lives as we serve our Creator.

Lord, in Christ’s name I ask you to help us sense your Holy Spirit leading and guiding us whenever we prepare to serve you. Amen.

Prayer for Peace
Revealing God, help us be open to your guiding Spirit. We trust you, God, to help us express our faithfulness and willingness to serve. May we follow your call to share the peace of Jesus Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Voices of God
What is the voice of God saying to us? Do we hear the whispers of God’s longing for shalom; God’s dream of beauty and wholeness for all creation? Do we hear the “voice” of God calling to us in faces and eyes, in the sounds of suffering and joy, in scripture and sacred word, in tears and laughter, in silence and noise? Spend a few moments reflecting on when and how God’s voice has spoken to you. When did you first feel called to join God in the pursuit of peace and justice? How does that call to shalom continue to come to you through the many “voices” of God?

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will be quiet and listen for you.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Vera Entwistle

     /  14 November 2013

    Thank you for your reminder about the importance of intentional prayer. I can remember times when I was asked to offer prayer and I did not give enough thought and preparation…and like you I have also had those moments when I have given a lot of thoughts about current needs and I felt the Spirit leading me in what to say. This experience has also taught me to listen more carefully when someone else is praying.

  2. Channin Daugherty

     /  14 November 2013

    Thank you so very much for this online resource. Especially today, this resonates with me. Each day I now l look forward to opening my phone to read, pray and work through the spiritual practice.
    I must be patient and quiet to listen to God’s spirit reaching out to me

Comments

