The Voice of the Suffering City

Tuesday, November 19

11-19By Peggy Michael of Cantonment, Florida, USA

But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the Lord on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare. For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.

—Jeremiah 29: 7, 11

I cry for those who have no voice…for children who do not sleep in warmth or cuddle a ragged bear. I yearn to dry the tears of the neglected, forlorn, battered, and lonely. I want to feed the ones who have no choice of what they eat, or if they eat at all. I long to speak for those who play among the debris of the wealthy.

I will wait beside those who have no one to greet them after school. Yes, Lord, I will speak for those who have no voice. But, what if I fail?

Bid me be silent so I may hear the cries of my neighbors. Make my heart pure so I will not injure or bear false witness against another. Teach me to reason and restore when differences would separate. When I question my purpose, bid me be silent, until I gather courage to speak and act on behalf of the suffering city.

Prayer for Peace
Creator God, I hear, I see, I feel the pain. Now let me speak, respond, and help heal. May I be part of your plans of a future with hope. May I be one who shares the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Hunger Action
Compassion is a fruit of the spiritual life. When we open a space for God, we become vessels and channels for the flow of God’s justice and healing. Enter into quiet prayer and ask God to open your heart to those who are hungry. Of what spiritual and physical hungers do you become aware? What persons or groups come into your mind and heart? What responses are you being invited to make? Pray about and write down the response or action you choose to complete. Is it a phone call, a pantry donation, a check to support the World Hunger Fund or Outreach International, a visit? Move into completing this action as you leave your prayer space.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will respond to voices of pain.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Susan Gregory

     /  23 November 2013

    Beautifully written, we share many of the same yearnings and concerns. Thanks for sharing!

Comments

