Coming Out of Hibernation

Friday, November 22

11-22By Evelyn Spence of Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

—Philippians 4:7

This cold morning, in an otherwise warm winter, I sought tranquility. I felt compelled by the Spirit to seek a quiet hibernation from the din of my busy world. I went to the scriptures for counsel and spiritual help. I went from one reference to another searching for a message.

The hostile world presented by the news media affected my usually optimistic outlook on life. I cannot do much about the violence and greed in our world. I often need to escape and seek assurance from the Lord.

As I read encouraging passages of scripture, I regained courage and peace of mind. God reaffirmed my need to continue working in the programs of our congregation, where I find comfort chatting with my friends. Studying with my church school classmates enlightens me. Reaching out to the community blesses me. I even find satisfaction as I clean the church bathroom. And, I gather more strength in worship.

Learning and doing are blessings for our mind and body. I thank the Lord that I still can learn and do things. I am thankful for my congregation where I can experience Christ’s mission.

Prayer for Peace
God of wisdom, we seek you for assurance that what we do matters for Christ’s mission. We can always learn more and share more of the Peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Experience Congregations in Mission
Read and reflect on Doctrine and Covenants 164:9a–d. Re-read the sentence, “If you truly would be Community of Christ, then embody and live the concerns and passion of Christ.” Make a list of the issues you feel mattered most to Christ. Make another list of issues that matter to your congregation. Reflect on the similarities and differences. How can you help align the lists? Throughout the day, as issues arise, ask yourself, “Would this matter to Christ?”

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will find a place to rise above the clamor and learn from you.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Rhonda Angeroth

     /  22 November 2013

    Wonderfully written. Thank you, Evelyn

  1. Peace: Find The Peace which Passeth All Understanding | End Times Prophecy Report

Comments

