The Boss

Tuesday, December 10

Pam

Pam

By Lu Mountenay of Independence, Missouri, USA

The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and his ears are open to their cry. When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears, and rescues them from all their troubles. The Lord is near to the broken-hearted, and saves the crushed in spirit.

—Psalm 34:15, 17-18

Pam was the middle sister of the five of us girls. She was not only in the middle age-wise, she was our center. She was the center of our sister-family structure.

All five of us went on a trip. While in the car, I told my sisters I read somewhere that most siblings had a leader or a boss among them. When I said “boss” all four of us said, “Pam!” She indignantly said, with the map on her lap, “I am not the boss! Turn left at the next corner.” We burst out laughing, including Pam.

We always asked her advice. And she gave it! She’s the one who dragged us to church as kids. She’s the one who wouldn’t let me swing my legs while sitting in the pew. I asked her how she would like it if her legs couldn’t reach the ground. I’d give anything to hear her call me “shorty” one more time.

Pam was there when we struggled through the death of our mom—she was our rock. She was the keystone of our family structure. When we lost Pam, our hearts broke. Each one of us is strong, but we had been stronger together. We will rebuild, but we’ll never be the same. We are different because Pam was part of our lives. We miss her today on the anniversary of her death.

Christ is the center of my community structure. He is the keystone. Without him, I would be different. He is my rock, my compass. He carries the map. He is the reason I can laugh.

Prayer for Peace
Sometimes we feel unworthy, God, for your eyes to be on us. And yet you do not even question our worth. You hear our faintest cry. You are near when our spirits are crushed. Thank you for sisters and brothers and Community of Christ, who are instruments for sharing Christ’s comfort and peace.

Spiritual Practice for Advent: Hope
Close your mind to troubling thoughts from the past by placing them in God’s generous hands and letting them go. Let God speak to your fearful heart. Think of your hope for the future—open windows in your mind through which you can see compassionate actions. Reflect on the approaching hope of the Christ child. What is your part in the reason for that hope? Rejoice in the Hope of the world.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will invite people to Christ, who is our center.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Marlene Krueger

     /  11 December 2013

    Thank you for sharing, Lu.

  2. Vera Entwistle

     /  10 December 2013

    I loved your story. I think many times we may consider someone bossy who is merely our guide, like your sister. Every family seems to have a boss….and certainly every family at times needs strong leadership to get us through the tough times. Thanks for sharing.

Comments

