Spiritual Energy

Friday, December 13

12-13By John Bonney of Springfield, Oregon, USA

Therefore, continue to be strong in faith. To you who hear my voice and know my promises. I will reveal myself and give my peace, even in the midst of your uncertainties. Indeed, I am longing to pour out grater blessings than you have ever known, if you, my people, will open yourselves through preparation, study, and prayer…

—Doctrine and Covenants 158:11a, b

The Spirit impinges on me. For a moment I am brought to a different level of awareness and my response is emotion—tears.

It may be the moon or a sunset or water in its various venues. It may be that overwhelming sense of the curvature of Earth and the all-encompassing circumference defined by water and sky, and the indistinct border between the two. It may be a bird song or J.S. Bach. I have also noticed this strong, inspiring and uplifting effect brought to me by people. I notice it when a group of people charge the air with energy of expectation.

It happened again last Sunday at our annual children’s Christmas program. The congregation at first responded with smiles to the whimsy of the kids and their antics. They try to bring a story to our attention. These smiles may then become tears of awareness. The redeeming feature of the whole production by the kids is because of the kids. They are so dear, uninhibited, and earnest. But this Sunday was a little different for me.

As well as the “cast of thousands,” it was the just beforehand that affected me the most. People gathered in expectation. I tuned in on a spiritual presence emanating from the hundred plus presences of hundred plus people. The spirit of the season caught them up; the spirit of celebration, love and being companions on the journey.

I do not want people to see me weeping in public. “Men don’t cry?” So it hurts to throttle it down and swallow hard, and not let the tears creep forth too obviously. The energy of love and hope emanating from the room just lifted me to another level. A blessing for me.

I came to an awareness that I was responding to the spiritual energy of the people around me. I will not forget that lesson. So whether the hair stands up on the neck, or a sweat breaks out, or the breathing comes more quickly, or we let ourselves cry, we respond when the Spirit touches us. We encounter a thin place and rise in our sensitivities to a greater association with reality beyond reality. Is it redundant to say, “I was moved to tears?” I moved with eternity.

Prayer for Peace
We are expectant, God, of your spiritual blessings. We open our hearts to receive them.

Spiritual Practice for Advent: Hope
Close your mind to troubling thoughts from the past by placing them in God’s generous hands and letting them go. Let God speak to your fearful heart. Open windows in your mind through which you can see compassionate actions. Reflect on the approaching hope of the Christ child. What is your part in the reason for that hope? Rejoice in the Hope of the world.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will tune in and listen.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Tshiula

     /  2 January 2014

    H M

    Envoyé de mon iPhone

  2. Marlene Krueger

     /  13 December 2013

    Beautiful. Thank you for sharing that wonderful, touching experience.

Comments

