Sanctuary

Wednesday, December 18

12-18By Peggy Michaels of Cantonment, Florida, USA

…receptive congregations in the areas around the Temple and throughout the world will be revived and equipped for more effective ministry. Vital to this awakening is the understanding that the Temple calls the entire church to become a sanctuary of Christ’s peace, where people from all nations, ethnicities, and life circumstances can be gathered into a spiritual home without dividing walls, as a fulfillment of the vision for which Jesus Christ sacrificed his life.

—Doctrine and Covenants 163:8c

In the middle of winter the angry wind clawed the last leaf from the maple tree. Slowly its life fed the farthermost root. The last wedge of geese winged southward, and below, a pheasant scurried through the ragged cornfield.

Brave willows lashed at the ice tyrant, but it would not retreat. Nearby, the sleepy turtles said goodnight and hid deep in the muddy pond. I, too, retreated with my coat clutched tightly about me. I headed inside for my chair beside the warm fire. Was my work done for the winter?

From my window I saw the lonely pine tree silhouetted by the moonlight. I thought, “Your work is not done. You must stand on the rocky ledge and brace yourself against the savage wind. You cling to the uneven rocks with living roots.

“Strong and secure, you do not exist for yourself alone. You offer a resting place, a sanctuary for tired birds. Season after season you point the way across the deep valley towards nurturing fields. Oh pine tree, like you I want to provide sanctuary for the weary. Let them rest on me for a time, and I will bless them on their way.”

Prayer for Peace
God, if it’s possible for a tree to be sanctuary for a bird, and as you are sanctuary for me, perhaps I might be sanctuary for another. Perhaps as a community we might be sanctuaries for those who share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice for Advent: Love
Reflect on the love of God. How is it that God sent Christ to be “all our loves exceeding?” How do you see God’s love revealed in Christ? How is God’s love revealed in your own life? Think of ways you can express that love as you prepare for the Son of God—love’s pure light? Thank God for the ultimate gift of love: Jesus Christ.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will employ ministries of the Temple to become sanctuary for another.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’m getting the Daily BreAd one day behind. I get it in the middle of the night and it isn’t the one for the day we are in it’s for the day before. Would like to wake up each day to a new Daily Bread. I love reading it and should take the time to send in some short happening story of my own to help out. Thank you!

  2. Irvin L. Jones

     /  18 December 2013

    Thank You God, for those who can express the way we all feel, but are not able to put it into words. I.L.J.

Comments

