The Need to Be Heard

Friday, December 27

12-27By Sara Parkin of Midlands, Michigan, USA

Finally, brothers and sisters, farewell. Put things in order, listen to my appeal, agree with one another, live in peace; and the God of love and peace will be with you.

—2 Corinthians 13:11

(Part 10 of my journey with Alzheimer’s Disease) I was at a walk in Saginaw, Michigan. It was a gathering of people who care. They care enough to share their lives, give support, and listen to those who need hearing … those with Alzheimer’s Disease.

I heard and saw laughter, joy, happiness, dancing, sharing, tears, helping, and walking. It was an amazing day. People were there to show many kinds of support: Some to remind us that we are still alive, some to help with fundraising, and some to share their stories. When I arrived I saw a lot of volunteers— setting things up for the walk, care givers, family and friends, and those with forms of Alzheimer’s Disease. God bless them all!

After that walk, I was a speaker at the Alzheimer’s Walk in Midland, Michigan. You can speak too. If you have a form of Alzheimer’s Disease and are still lucid, please know that God is with you and will walk with you every day. Share your stories. Caregivers: You can speak for them also. Everyone is a child of God, and if you are afraid to speak God will help you. God gives me the words that I need when I falter.

After reading my blog, someone asked me to interview with the Daily News. I was scared, but I remembered God would let it happen or not. I said yes. Once I found out that I have a form of dementia, I could start to find what I can do. It has been a challenge. Not easy! I learned that if I am stressed my brain slows me down. When I start to think that I failed the challenge, I remember my brain is still working. I am tired, but I say, the end of Alzheimer’s starts with me and you! Thank you for being part of my journey. Go in peace.

Prayer for Peace
God of love and peace, help us remember you are with us every step of our journey. Help us understand how frustrating it is for those who suffer loss of memory, speech, and recognition. Help us encourage them and let them know we will be with them also. We will help them share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice
Pray with a partner if possible, or image Christ sitting with you. The heart is a center of compassion and spiritual connection. Stand or sit across from your partner with hands open and palms up. Invite your partner to place their hands, palms down, on your hands. Close your eyes and be aware of the connection between your heart and your partner’s heart. What needs, feelings, or longings do you sense? Invite God’s presence to flow into you and move from your heart to the heart of your partner. Feel or see God’s healing light and love flowing between your hearts.  (You also may pray this prayer by envisioning a particular person across from you.)

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will be present with someone, who may not know who I am, or even that I am there.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I look forward to hearing from Sara, she only lives approx 20 miles from where I live!

  2. Norma Mercurio

     /  27 December 2013

    Sara, thank you for your courageous sharing. You have blessed me and I pray that you may always be aware of God’s presence with you.

Comments

