Transition to a New Year

Wednesday, January 1

1-1By Darrell Belrose of Calgary, Alberta, Canada

The Lord lift up his countenance upon you, and give you peace.

—Numbers 6:26

I flew home to Calgary prepared to ring in the New Year with a sense of joy and happiness. I realized God had blessed me beyond words as the year ended with a witness of servant ministry. God blessed me as I reflected on the life of a dear brother who passed away, and on the lives of two servants of God who sought to be the best that God had called them to be. December 31was a day of evaluation and celebration!

As I sat on the airplane, flying to attend the funeral of my friend, Bill, I reflected on the eight years I knew and loved this gentle, quiet man. He lived his 85 years fully and treated his last 18 months, dealing with cancer, as a testimony of God’s gracious love.

I was going to share in Bill’s funeral with another faithful servant of God, Bud. Bud, whose own life was decimated by cancer, is on the transplant list for a liver. I had witnessed Bud’s tender and compassionate ministry with Brother Bill through the sacrament of laying on of hands for the sick. He readily shared with those in his community and congregation.

In a few short hours Bud, who had just returned home eight days earlier after another round of chemotherapy, would share in the life celebration of his mentor and cancer advocate, Bill.

Bill’s memorial service was upbeat and joyful with memories and a grand testimony of a quiet humble servant of God who loved life. What a witness of God’s compassion and love through the ministry of these two men

The opportunity to experience God in action allowed me to reflect on my life and how I have received care and nurture from a compassionate God who simply wants us to know divine love. I can’t think of a more significant way to spend the transition into a new year.

Prayer for Peace
Lift your countenance to us, God, that we may see you in others. Bless us with opportunities to be servant ministers. Bless us with opportunities to share Christ’s peace in this new year.

Spiritual Practice: Develop Disciples to Serve
As disciples of Jesus Christ, we are called to respond to people and their needs. Pray about using your skills to help another person. As you feel affirmed, thank God for the opportunity to be a responding, serving disciple while you move into the outward journey.

Peace Covenant
I will start this gift of a new year, God, as a servant minister.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Ruth & Garry Boyd

     /  1 January 2014

    would it be possible to have the daily devotions a day earlier as we don’t receive it until afternoon and are used to having our worship time in the morning. Thanks

  2. Betty Robinson

     /  1 January 2014

    Thanks for sharing this testimony of Gods compassion in people’s lives .

  3. merna Short

     /  1 January 2014

    I have witnessed compassionate ministry in abundance as my husband died of cancer Nov. 2nd.
    The love uplifting and strengthening us is a treasure and as God is love and the essence of love I see all these wonderful, caring people as His gift of blessing.

Comments

