Live the Possibilities

Wednesday, January 22

1-22By Ginger Walker of Houston, Texas, USA

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.”

—Matthew 5:9

One year at reunion (family camp) I was talking with a friend about the auction that would be held later in the week. I write poetry, and she said she was going into town the next day and would look for a frame for one of my poems to offer at the auction.

She brought the frame to me the next day. Sometimes frames have sample photographs already in it. This one had a scripture that said, “I can do all things through Christ.” I pulled out my notebook of poetry and thoughts. I found one I had written several months earlier titled, “Possibility.” I would like to share it with you:

What is possible for me to do?
I set narrow limits when I don’t listen to God.

With the Divine, peace and justice are in my reach,
I can write a poem, sing a song, or teach.

God has shown the way to a missional life
and beyond—where I can only imagine.

A lifetime may not be long enough
to live all the possibilities.

Prayer for Peace
God of peace and justice, help us, as disciples of the Prince of Peace, to live the possibility of peace. Help us to live and work for justice.

Spiritual Practice: Pursue Peace on Earth
Read and reflect on Doctrine and Covenants 161:2a. Reflect on how you can “see violence but proclaim peace…feel conflict, yet extend the hand of reconciliation…encounter broken spirits and find pathways for healing.”

What does the peace of Christ mean to you? Begin by prayerfully listening to your longing for peace. Prayerfully open yourself to God’s yearning for peace and the divine vision of shalom. What act of justice or peacemaking does God invite you to pursue this day? Dwell on these words of pursuit: see, proclaim, feel, extend, encounter, find.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will have faith in the possibility of doing Christ’s mission.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Karen Porter

     /  22 January 2014

    Ginger, I totally understand your wanting to create something special for the auction at Reunion. Our Mission Center (Far West) also has an auction at Reunion & I try to include some of my art work. It feels good to share our talents, especially if it will benefit others.

Comments

