God Prepares the Way

Monday, January 27

1-27By Julie Conway-Sword of Gainesville, Florida, USA

Finally, brothers and sisters, farewell. Put things in order, listen to my appeal, agree with one another, live in peace; and the God of love and peace will be with you.

—2 Corinthians 13:11

I like to reflect on the story of Jesus preparing breakfast for his disciples on the beach (John 21). I can almost smell the fish cooking, and feel the stimulated hunger pangs as the disciples haul the guided catch from their boat. I see them realize it is Jesus who has watched, waited, and challenged them to cast their nets on the other side. Jesus prepared this surprise, and the disciples rejoiced in his presence.

We recently had moved into a new house. The children had picked the color scheme for their bedrooms, settled into their school routines, and developed some neighborhood friends. But then my husband’s employer moved him to a job in a different city. I did not want to move again, and I felt the Lord must know it.

One Wednesday evening I took our children to prayer service, wondering, but hardly daring to ask, what God would have me to do with my unwillingness to accept this move. During the service, the worship leader assured me God always prepares the way; that the Holy Spirit had been preparing me for the move. I was assured that God always opens doors for new opportunities to serve.

It surprised us to find our new home would be one of our favorite places to live—a friendly creative congregation, great schools for our children, and a place to call home. We were grateful. Be prepared—there may be something new in store for you. God will surprise!

Prayer for Peace
Tender Shepherd, thank you for giving us tools to cope with change. Thank you for your comfort, guidance, and companions on the journey to peace.

Spiritual Practice: Examining God’s Call to Me and to All
Reflect on God’s call in your life. Begin by prayerfully asking to recall particular moments when you have experienced God’s presence and invitation. Write in your journal or quietly reflect on images and insights that come.

When has God seemed most real in your life? How and when has God called you to use your energies and gifts? When have you felt God’s love in your life? When have you felt disconnected or resistant to God’s call? How do your gifts and callings connect with the call of God you notice in your family, friends, congregation, or community?

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will be aware of preparation going on in my life.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Diane Akers

     /  27 January 2014

    Very wonderful words of encouragement.

  2. Carol Ann Reiff

     /  27 January 2014

    Julie, your testimony and your life has been a blessing to me. I remember being invited to your home and your words of wisdom helped me when I needed wisdom to raise my children. Thank you.

  3. Adele

     /  27 January 2014

    I too identify with your reluctance to move again. On one of our moves, I had a sense of terror, which was crippling. The ordination of Administration was offered to me, which I accepted and the terror was removed from me. I was able to participate in the move, got a good job, made lovely friends and found a supportive church family.

Comments

