You Want Me to Do What?

Wednesday, February 12

2-12By Norma J. Cross of Independence, Missouri, USA

I appeal to you therefore, brothers and sisters, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds, so that you may discern what is the will of God—what is good and acceptable and perfect.

—Romans 12:1–2

I have learned through the years that listening to God isn’t always easy. When God needs to get through to me, God finds a way.

For many years, I served my congregation as a youth leader, coordinating activities and engaging young people in programs. I never thought I could lead another group. I didn’t take part in any other groups.

One morning as I knelt and prayed in my personal space, God gave me a thought that I was to be asked to lead a different congregational group. I faintly cried out, “No.” Later in the day, my pastor called and asked me to be that leader. I realized that without God’s nudge to let me know ahead of time, I would have refused.

The pastor had asked other people, too, and they had refused. I was not his first choice; but obviously, God knew I could do it. What is most important to me is I believe God not only needed a leader, I needed to grow in new directions. Like the nautilus, I turned from my old chamber of limitations and moved on to new possibilities.

God may not ask us to walk on water, but we may hear an invitation to get out of the boat and try swimming in new waters.

Prayer for Peace
Challenge us, God. Help us try new ways of serving. Help us find new ways to share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Develop Disciples to Serve
Read and reflect on Psalm 42:1–2. As disciples of Jesus Christ, we are called to respond to people and their needs. The call to journey inward can restore us in times of physical or spiritual depletion.

Imagine you can feel a vessel at the center of your being (a clay jar, a crystal vase, a metal bucket, or other container). Imagine drawing something from the vessel to share with another person, but as you reach inside you find only a tiny pool of stagnant liquid. You are thirsty, dry, empty.

Listen prayerfully again to the psalm, “As a deer longs for flowing streams, so my soul longs for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.” As you feel restored, thank God for the opportunity to be a responding, serving disciple while you move into the outward journey. Remember this exercise as you drink water throughout the day.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will pray and discern your will for my life.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dick Hahn

     /  12 February 2014

    This may be Paul’s major contribution to the nature of discipleship. Thank you for
    sharing your personal witness of how it works. It really does work for all of us. Praise God!

Comments

