Understand the Vision

Friday, February 21

Alaska photo by Glenn Johnson

Alaska photo by Glenn Johnson

By Glenn Johnson of Covina, California, USA

At the beginning of your supplications a word went out, and I have come to declare it, for you are greatly beloved. So consider the word and understand the vision.

—Daniel 9:23

While “flightseeing” over the Alaskan wilderness, we entered whiteout conditions. There was zero visibility, and we saw only a wall of snow through the windshield. The pilot announced we needed to turn back. I would not be able to see Prince William Sound that day. I was disappointed.

As the pilot banked into open skies again, we flew over the same glacier-filled waterways and snow-covered peaks that we saw on our way to that point. But this time, after emerging from the whiteout conditions, my vision cleared, and my vantage point improved.

Every detail of the awe-inspiring landscape unfolded distinctly before me: the blue ice of the glaciers, the pure white coats of Dall sheep, the massive rock formations, and the pristine interplay of blue skies with wispy white clouds. Never before had I enjoyed such a remarkable view of God’s great creation.

Sometimes we make plans that we think are best for our lives, but roadblocks get in the way. As we adjust our course and press on, trusting in God’s grace, our vision intensifies, and we find ourselves on a better path.

Prayer for Peace
Creator God, open our eyes and brighten our path that we may see our way to communion with you. Bring us close to your loving presence and give us strength for our journey. May we see clearly how to share the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Sea of Light
Quiet and center yourself. Ask for God’s healing and guidance as you enter this time of prayerful presence. Close your eyes, breathing deeply and calmly. Imagine that you are floating in a beautiful sea of light that rises and falls with each cycle of your breath. The golden light of this sea buoys you up, so you float effortlessly. Waves of light carry and wash over you, bringing wholeness and peace. Rest in the sea of God’s love and then offer a prayer of gratitude.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, if I find myself disappointed by what I cannot see, I will readjust my attitude and find delight in what I can see. And I will see it in a new light.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Diane Akers

     /  21 February 2014

    Excellent choice of words! I understand fully as I’ve experience similair situations.

Comments

