Smile…God Is with Us

Thursday, February 27

2-27By Peggy Michael of Cantonment, Florida, USA

Let us then pursue what makes for peace and for mutual upbuilding.

—Romans 14:19

We often enjoyed fishing in a small stream near our family home. One summer day, we gathered there and dropped our hooks in the water. As the morning wore on, young Kim lost interest. Her parents asked me if I would take her home. So I lifted her onto my shoulders and chose the shortcut through the light woods.

Our family home was visible in the distance. At first, I easily threaded my way among the trees and vines. Then the going became more difficult. I told Kim to keep her face close to me and hold on tight. I assured her she would be safe, and soon we would break into open space where we could see.

Kim doubted it and questioned me, “Where are Mama and Daddy?” I told her they were still fishing where we had left them.

A few steps later she pleaded, “Where is Granny B’s house?” I pointed the way, but at that time she still could not see it. She felt we were lost and insisted, “Where is God?” I tried to put her mind at peace and assured her God was with us. Then I smiled as we returned to the open road with home in sight.

As I walked the familiar road, it reminded me of a conversation between a grandfather and his young grandson. At each opportunity the older man pointed out the wonder of God’s creation. Finally, the boy responded, “Grandpa, you think about God a lot, don’t you?” He replied, “Son, I hardly think about anything else.”

I find that when I view the world through the eyes of a child, I see God more clearly. At these times, I am compelled to worship the Creator of all—the one who walks beside us in the dark forests of our lives, and on the open roads—the one who brings us peace.

Prayer for Peace
Tender Shepherd, help us assure one another of your presence. Give us faith to know that when we lose our way, you are with us.

Spiritual Practice: Listening to Children
Sit in your quiet place and center your heart and mind on God’s presence. Spend several minutes asking God to bring into your awareness the names and images of children in your life. You may see their faces or hear their voices as you receive these impressions. Listen deeply to the unique gifts and needs of the children who come to mind. Offer a prayer of blessing for each child and the needs you perceive. If you feel led, you may want to write a note or card and give a message of affirmation and love to each child.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will step out in faith, knowing you will be with me on my journey.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Gladys Geis

     /  27 February 2014

    THANKS FOR YOUR THOUGHTS THIS MORNING.

Comments

