Sitting with Jesus

Monday, March 3

Erica Blevins Nye in “Woman Reaching Out” drama

Erica Blevins Nye in “Woman Reaching Out” drama

By Betty Williams of Mission, British Columbia, Canada

For the mountains may depart and the hills be removed, but my steadfast love shall not depart from you, and my covenant of peace shall not be removed, says the Lord, who has compassion on you.

—Isaiah 54:10

I am disabled with post-polio symptoms. Many years ago I started to have pain in my spine. Not long ago, my condition progressed, and my doctors told me I had near double scoliosis, bulging disks, wedged and crushed vertebrae. They told me I needed surgery that would require inserting a pole, pins, and bolts into my body. Doctors put me on a narcotic more than five times stronger than morphine. The drug took away my ability to think clearly, but it was either that…or the pain.

While I was being medicated, I had difficulty maintaining my years-long tradition of spending quiet time every afternoon to commune with God. The drug often made me forget what I was doing. Finally, in June I forced myself to stay focused. In my quiet time I imagined Jesus sitting with me. When I felt his presence, I spoke to Jesus saying, “I am the woman who touched the hem of your garment—please heal me. If a total healing is not mine, please, would you at least heal my spine?”

I saw the neurosurgeon later that month. He was puzzled. He ordered additional x-rays. A few months later he ordered more tests and x-rays. He then told me my spine had healed itself, and I did not need any surgery. I told him I knew who had healed my spine.

I am off the narcotics, and I am back! I am so grateful to have learned how to have that quiet time and to know when Jesus is with me and for the comfort with which I am blessed

Prayer for Peace
Compassionate God, hold us in your healing light. Wash us with your Spirit. Sit with us when we pray. Go with us as we share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Praying with a Partner
Pray with a partner if possible, or imagine Christ sitting with you. The heart is a center of compassion and spiritual connection. Stand or sit across from your partner with hands open and palms up. Invite your partner to place his or her hands, palms down, on your hands. Close your eyes and be aware of the connection between your heart and your partner’s heart.

What needs, feelings, or longings do you sense? Invite God’s presence to flow into you and move from your heart to the heart of your partner. Feel or see God’s healing light and love flowing between your hearts. After silent prayer, thank God and your partner. Say amen. (You also may pray this prayer by envisioning a particular person across from you.)

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will find someone who needs a partner to pray with.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Norma Mercurio

     /  3 March 2014

    Your testimony blesses and challenges me! Thank you for your beautiful sharing that inspires me and calls me. May you continue to be blessed as you sit with Jesus.

  2. Carol Norris Vincent

     /  3 March 2014

    Your wonderful devotional message resonated with me for I too have post-polio syndrome and I have often neglected the quiet time to sit with Jesus. Thank you for the reminder, and God bless you in the challenges you face.

  3. Vera Entwistle

     /  3 March 2014

    What a wonderful testimony! God continue to bless you.

Comments

