Let Things out…Make Room for Christ

Friday, March 14

3-14By Linda Lyons of Kansas City, Kansas, USA

And above all things, clothe yourselves with the bonds of charity, as with a mantle, which is the bond of perfectness and peace; pray always, that you may not faint until I come; behold, and lo, I will come quickly, and receive you unto myself. Amen.

—Doctrine and Covenants 85:38c

I was deep in thought about Christ and what he does in our lives if we let him. I was so deep in thought that everything I did that morning just kept coming back to the same scene. I was remembering a painting of Jesus knocking at the door, an image that had always affected me. But it wasn’t until a few years ago that a friend pointed out to me the door did not seem to have a doorknob.

I looked at several artists’ renditions and could not see a doorknob. One could assume Jesus was in front of the knob, and we just couldn’t see it, or we could imagine a possible message about why we can’t see it. I asked myself, “How could Jesus get in if we didn’t open the door for him to enter? Is someone inside waiting for him, while he waits for them to act?”

As I was getting ready for church that morning the bathroom had filled with steam, and I could not see clearly in the mirror. It wasn’t until I opened the door to let the steam out that I could see clearly. I also need to open the door to let distractions out of my life so Jesus can come in. I cannot see clearly until I let Jesus into my heart.

He is ready to receive me. He will always be there for me. Do I always open the door for him?

Prayer for Peace
Ever-present God, when we wait for you, help us to be aware it is you who waits for us. All we need do is create an opening so you can receive us into your peace.

Spiritual Practice: Open Hands
Stand or sit with your hands extended in front of you. Prayerfully ponder all that you hold in your hands that make you feel too full, busy, drained, or closed. Spread your hands up and apart to release these burdens, then hold them open and empty them again. Thank God for relationships that fill and feed your spirit. Pray for a generous heart and open hands that reach out to make room for all in the circle of Christ’s community.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will leave the door open with great expectation.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Lois Gould

     /  14 March 2014

    very challenging thoughts

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,102 other followers

