Believing in Christ

Sunday, March 16

3-16By Barbara Carter, Council of Twelve Apostles

Now there was a Pharisee named Nicodemus, a leader of the Jews. He came to Jesus by night and said to him, “Rabbi, we know that you are a teacher who has come from God; for no one can do these signs that you do apart from the presence of God.”

—John 3:1–2

I don’t remember a time when I was not aware of Jesus Christ. My family taught me from birth, the stories and the living message of Jesus. I had a full community that made sure my foundation was strong. I learned well. One might not think I would resonate with Nicodemus, yet at times I have. Often I sought answers in the dark, so no one would know my questions.

Believing in Christ is not a stagnant place of existence. It requires me to be in a constant state of learning and growing. It exposes me to new and sometimes-uncomfortable understandings that may disrupt my discipleship. Believing in Christ calls me to seek the Rabbi. At times, I seek in the dark, so my witness of the One who calls us into light is strong and sure.

Prayer for Peace
God of the light, strong, and sure, help us feel free to ask questions—to explore, study, and seek you in our darkest hour. We see you at the end of the dark tunnel. You give light and encourage us to continue the journey toward peace

Spiritual Practice: Light
Close your eyes, and become centered with your breath. Reflect on the statement, “The light of God is in all things,” as you breathe gently in and out. The light has a bright, soft beauty and radiates God’s healing love. The light of God reaches you and permeates you with a deep sense of peace. Rest in the light as it surrounds and fills you. Thank God that you live in God’s light, and it lives in you.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will continue to learn and grow, nurtured by your light.

Leave a comment

Comments

