Soften My Heart, Lord

Friday, March 21

3-21By Dan Sherman of Indianola, Iowa, USA

Regarding priesthood, God calls whoever God calls from among committed disciples, according to their gifts, to serve and reach all humankind. Priesthood policies and procedures provide a clear way for disciples to respond to calling. They also define the difference between a sense of call as potential and the need to align one’s life with principles of moral behavior and relationships that promote the well-being of the church community.

—Words of Counsel, 2013 World Conference

After the 2013 USA National Conference, I had a hard time accepting the recommendation allowing members in same-sex/gender relationships to hold priesthood offices. I even turned in my priesthood card.

I reflected on scripture, prayed, and discussed this with family, friends, my pastor, and other priesthood members. I determined that I could not be a member of, or associated with, a church that allowed this.

Since then I continued to reflect on that decision and to search scripture to get a handle on it. I kept hearing the song, “Soften My Heart” (CCS 187). Because of this song, I realized that I had built a wall of exclusion. I was preaching about tearing down walls, and I was the one reinforcing the wall.

My heart had been hard and I needed God’s softening love and understanding. The Spirit then moved in me and gently led me to know that I need to love ALL people. It took me a while to allow the Spirit to move in me. I am thankful for God’s patience.

Prayer for Peace
Patient and loving God, we need the ebb and flow of your Spirit to nudge our resistance and embrace your passion for equality and justice.

Spiritual Practice: Honoring God’s Call to Others
Reflect on God’s call in your life. Quietly reflect on the moments when you have experienced God’s presence and invitation to expand your gifts. Write in your journal or quietly reflect on images and insights that come. When have you experienced God through the calling and gifts of others? How do your gifts connect with the call of God that you notice in your family, friends, congregation, or international community?

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will honor your call to others.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Jane Pinkham

     /  22 March 2014

    Well said, Dan.

  2. Dorcas Wilkinson

     /  21 March 2014

    Dan, thank you for sharing your testimony. My hope is for others to hear the still small voice that calls us to Him.

  3. Thank you Dan for sharing your testimony with us. No matter where we are on our plane of understanding, we need testimonies such as yours to help guide our understanding.

  4. Diane Akers

     /  21 March 2014

    Thanks for sharing your personal testimony. Each member I believe runs up agianst different challenges and only thru the Spirit do we see with new eyes!

  5. Dan, your testimony of the movement of the gentle Presence is lovely. It is amazing that the Spirit is so patient and did not impose on you but waited for your prayerful openness. It seems to me the experience is richer as a result. Thank you for sharing.

Comments

