Blessed In the Midst of Difficulty

Friday, March 28

3-28By Nancy Hylton of Seattle, Washington, USA

Jesus Christ, the embodiment of God’s shalom, invites all people to come and receive peace in the midst of the difficult questions and struggles of life. Follow Christ in the way that leads to God’s peace and discover the blessings of all the dimensions of salvation.

—Doctrine and Covenants 163:2a

I was enjoying two days of downhill skiing with my grown daughters. On the second day, my hands and feet began to get sore, so I stopped skiing early. By the following Saturday, I could not zip up my jeans or open a door. Two weeks later I was referred to a rheumatologist.

I am a pediatric physical therapist and orthotist. My hands are important in my profession. I had been unable to work. Thankfully, an appointment opened immediately, and I was diagnosed with sudden-onset severe rheumatoid arthritis.

I was scheduled to teach several workshops in Europe in the coming months and felt unsure how to handle those commitments. The doctor prescribed medication with an 80-percent chance of controlling, but not curing, my condition.

I prayed, “Lord, what should I do? What can I do?” Gently, within moments, the answer arrived. “I will take care of it.” That was all I was given to know. I could let go of fear and let God be with me. A profound sense of peace washed over me.

I had enough energy to teach the assigned workshops and many more. It took a year to bring the disease under control. I must take heavy medication to manage it.

Now I look at this experience from a nearly 15-year perspective. I have had strength well beyond my own resources. I could teach and share information in distant parts of the world. Most importantly I have been able to serve in my congregation and wider faith community as an ordained minister.

God did not take the difficulties away, but God has given me more than I needed. I thank God for blessings beyond measure! I praise God for divine grace and generosity.

Prayer for Peace
Revealing God, we hear your invitation to receive Christ, the embodiment of your shalom. We hear your call to be a blessing in our communities by sharing Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Voices of God
What is the voice of God saying to us? Do we hear the whispers of God’s longing for healing and wholeness for all creation? Do we hear the “voice” of God calling to us in the sounds of suffering and joy, in scripture and sacred word, in tears and laughter? How does the assurance of comfort come to you through the many “voices” of God?

Peace Covenant
Today, God, in the midst of struggle, I will let go and listen for your assurance.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. What a wonderful example of letting go and letting God be in control. I shall try to follow your example. Thank you for sharing.

Comments

