Open Our Eyes

Sunday, March 30

3-30By Rick Maupin, Council of Twelve Apostles

As he walked along, he saw a man blind from birth. His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” Jesus answered, “Neither this man nor his parents sinned; he was born blind so that God’s works might be revealed in him.” …When he had said this, he spat on the ground and made mud with the saliva and spread the mud on the man’s eyes, saying to him, “Go, wash in the pool of Siloam” (which means Sent). Then he went and washed and came back able to see.

—John 9:1–3, 6–7

I claim to want a close connection with God that will open my eyes. However, I am not always willing to walk all the way to the “pool of Siloam.” I sometimes seek a shorter and easier path.

Often I see evidence of a fast-food-drive-up-window attitude in my culture. Customers want their meals to arrive quickly and to taste good. They don’t want to spend much money. So what is the connection between the pool of Siloam and the fast-food window? I want a meaningful relationship with God, and I want my spiritual eyes to be open. However, there are times when I want that new sight to occur quickly. I want it to feel good, and I don’t want to invest much effort and energy.

Some fast-food meals are less than satisfying. Trying to find a deep connection with God, or opening our eyes to new truth in a fast-paced, feel-good, low-investment way is also less than fulfilling.

Jesus placing the mud on the man’s eyes was only the first step. New sight was not instantaneous or easy. The man then had to journey across town to the pool of Siloam. The journey may not have been fast. It may have been awkward as he stumbled with mud dripping from his face. He went because Jesus touched and sent him. Could it be that in the journey to the pool he was beginning to gain his sight? Today Jesus Christ continues to offer us “mud packs” so we can see his mission, our mission, more clearly. What new visions are awaiting you on the way to the pool?

Prayer for Peace
Shaping God, help us make a full investment of time and energy spent with you. Help us do the work it takes to become spiritually whole. Help us transform quick trips into intentional journeys as we share the peace of Christ along the way.

Spiritual Practice: Shaping into Wholeness
Hold (or imagine holding) a glass cup, bowl, or vase. Explore its shape, texture, and color. Let the container symbolize your life as it is being formed. Write on strips of paper (or in your journal) the aspects of your life that are not yet just or whole. Place the strips in the glass container and hold it in your hands. Pray a prayer of confession and petition. Ask God to continue to breathe in and on you, shaping you into a just and compassionate person.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will slow down and absorb every part of your creation that I meet.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Connie Lane Lindeen

     /  31 March 2014

    Thank you for the reminders. I am not fond of cooking, at least not on a daily basis, it takes such time and effort and the food doesn’t stick around long. Finding an easier way is very appealing. Sometimes my lack of wanting to put in the time/effort gets me stalled during my journey. There are so many competing interests, it takes such discipline to stay loyal to “God time.” I get sidetracked easily on my way to the pool. I fear that some day when I arrive at the pool it will be dry and parched.

Comments

